1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Walton Chaintech Launches 2GHz DDR3 Modules

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Dec 21, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Hardware company Walton Chaintech has introduced new DDR3 modules certified to run at 2000MHz with timings of 9-8-8-24. The Apogee GT modules are expected to ship as a 2GB dual channel kit, although the pricing has not yet been unveiled. As you can see from the image below, the memory features quite a substantial heatsink covering two sticks.
    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    wow, fugly...but if it works it works I guess...
  3. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    thats some fast ramĀ¬!
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    holy timings batman!
  5. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    quick question, can you W/C RAM?
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i guess ...
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
  7. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    This will definitely cost four figures in cash$$$$$$$:banghead::banghead::banghead:
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Ok...but what happens if the spacing of your memory slots if different to what they set it to?
  9. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Idk hopefully you can move them.
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Hopefully, one day we will see a chipset that allows native DDR3 1800 or allow for OC up to DDR3 2000
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Holy shet. Soon RAM will pass up cpu's :eek:
    I want dual-core RAM!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    we will see it - the computer industry moves quickly
  13. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    Wont these high mhz and ghz Ram sticks eventually create too much heat to expand beyond a certain speed?
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I wish they'd rolled out a 2x 2GB kit instead of this. Sure it's got all the world's bandwidth but 2 GB isn't very future-proof. The heatsink on top...is it detachable like the Corsair Dominator fan-block or fixed? If it's fixed then the user would pretty-much end up using just 2 GB on his motherboard because the slot between the two modules would go waste.
  15. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    So then they'll just create a new architecture, or a new type of RAM.
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    bullseye, and that's holographic memory. it finds application in both fast volatile storage (RAM) and slower permanent storage (hard-drive)
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    What, it's not bad for the speed. Roughly equivalent to 800MHz CAS4, but a heck of a lot more bandwidth.
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    fo rly?
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    ya rly.
  20. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    That's some good looking ram (I like how they mounted the heat sink on top), good specs too. :toast:

    But what if you had 4gigs? That heat sink would be really damn annoying...
  21. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    But they can make the ram chips only so small before its impossible to make them smaller without raising the cost extravagently. Am I right?
  22. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    just cool them. i dont understand why RAM has to be perpendicular to the board anyway, cant you integrate it on to board
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If you integrate it onto the board, that would kill expandability vis-a-vis expansion slots.
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,650 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    it would suck if your mobo had an odd mounting setup :roll: they should have just integrated some fans...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page