1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Want to Reinstall XP - Complete Do-Over

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Jenesis, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. Jenesis

    Jenesis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    150 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    I want to delete everything on the hard drive of my laptop and reinstall XP Home (a legal OEM copy). How on earth do I do this? I can't even get into Windows (hence part of the reason for reinstallation) so I can't do it there. Booting from the CD only gives me the option to repair XP, which does absolutely nothing except add another to the welcome screen.

    Help :( What do I do? I bought the XP disc especially for this reinstallation, but my laptop (a Dell one, btw, and far too old to be eligible for any kind of warranty support) really doesn't like it...
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    That's odd. It never gets to a screen that shows you the disk partitions and gives you the option to delete the partition ?
     
  3. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I think you have to wait for the repair screen to go away. Then you'll enter the partitions manager and from there you install. Oh, and idk if you can install normal xp onto a Dell. Dell's ship with a special copy that designates the system as a Dell inside of windows. I know you can go Dell xp to another computer....but still not sure about the other way around. Do you have the rescue disks for the Dell?
     
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You can use a regular copy of Windows on any Dell. You just can't load a Dell copy of Windows on any other type of computer (not easily anyway ;) )
     
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Huh....I did the second one on a Compaq (we didn't get our other xp disk yet) and it worked. All that was messed up was that it said the computer was a Dell.
     
  6. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Burn GParted's LiveCD to a CD and boot from it. It's a utility in a Linux environment, but once you figure out how to do stuff, you can use it to format the hard drive.
     
  7. Jenesis

    Jenesis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    150 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    I figured it out :) You have to delete all the partitions, after selecting "New Install". Then it formats the drive and installs. Hooray! Now to jump through hoops for the MS Activation via phone... yay...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page