1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Want to run 100% CEP2 WUs? Here's how...

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by brandonwh64, Sep 6, 2013.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,257 (10.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Standard setup of CEP2 Work Units.

    Create a new school profile and set just as pictured below. Once complete add this profile to the device in under device manager. Once done, you can let the WU's you have already running complete or do what I did and do a full uninstall and delete of BIONC folders in program files/data then reinstall.

    [​IMG]

    WARNING! WARNING!


    If you want to use the NON disk thrashing method, look below for Justin1980's How-To!

    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013
    AlienIsGOD, TRWOV, Mindweaver and 7 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7,724 (9.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,596
    Sub'd

    Thanks for the link Brandon :toast:

    iirc there are a couple of other methods to fill the rig with CEP2 work but I forgot them atm :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,257 (10.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I did everything in the OP except that superspeed program. I currently have 8 WU of CEP2 but load is not at 100% as of yet but they all are running.

    *edit*

    its at 100% load now after all WU downloaded. Completion time is like 13 hours LOL
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thanks for the info :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    613 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    Thank you very much for this!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,484 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    After reading the post on xtreme, the link above, I decided to try a RamDisk cache for CEP2.

    I have the ramdisk set to save every twelve minutes, made it 3GB and set it to save image on shutdown.

    In order to use the RamDisk, BOINC needs to be uninstalled and re-installed, in order to point the cache to the new drive, on my system-F:. So, I set BOINC to No New Tasks and will let it run through the next 3.5-4 days of stuff, force an update and then uninstall, etc.

    I also set up a new Device profile for just CEP2, to be used when I reinstall.

    I have no idea how fast four CEP2 WU's will fill up my 3GB ramDisk. I am simply guessing that 12 minutes will be enough to NOT fill it. I may adjust it if the drive saves are very small, based on the drive light and Task Manager graphs.

    I will keep you all posted on how this works. However, as I mentioned, I will let the BOINC cache run through what it has, about 4 days.

    So, sometime on the tenth, or 11th, I will post how it is working. If anybody else is/ has doing/done this, I would appreciate your input!

    Thanks
    :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,484 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    OK, while sleeping on it, after dinner nap, I have a few questions.

    RamDisk is set to save to hdd, in it's own folder, every twelve minutes ( an estimate based on some loose math from the post in xtreme.com ).

    How dynamic is that 'Image' gonna be? Do I even need it to be?

    Here's the deal. Currently, I am allowing BOINC 3.5 GB and it is using exactly half, 1.75 GB.
    The RamDisk will be, is, 3GB.

    So, the current two CEP2 Wu's running are writing to disk about twelve times a minute. I am assuming, it is writing and erasing, or replacing, or writing over, itself or the 1.75 GB would be constantly growing. No?

    If this is the case, I could actually just leave the RamDisk running and simply back it up when the Laptop sleeps, or is shut off.

    But, I don't think that is it. Because dude over at xtreme says his cache, of 5GB would fill up and auto dump to disk. Obviously it was filling up.

    So, from what I can gather, His 'SmartCache' saved to the BOINC allocation space on his HDD/SSD. RamDisk saves an 'Image' to my C:/ drive and then reloads it when I re-start.

    Problem is...This 'Image' file will be writing over itself every twelve minutes. So, are each of those updates, including the shutdown 'Image', gonna be what BOINC needs, when the job reports or, will the job even be able to keep running without an error?

    So, yea. I don't EVEN know who to ask THAT question! Considering how specific it is to this one type of WU on BOINC running WCG using a RamDisk.

    Either one of you fine people have been there, or I jump in feet first and see what happens!!

    :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Brandon, thank you for this, but I'm going to add some warnings:
    CEP2 makes systems run hotter. On a desktop this is probably OK, but if you're running a laptop or tablet, be very careful about temps--my laptop runs 5C hotter doing CEP2 vs SN2S while the tablet does about 7C hotter.

    CEP2 is brutal on your bandwidth. Each uploaded WU is about 30MB. If you have a metered connection like I know that mjkmike does, this could get expensive very quickly. Or it could interfere with other things going on at once.

    Unless you set up the RAMdisk, CEP2 thrashes your disk immensely. This is very painful with 8 WUs on a 5400RPM disk :eek:

    The checkpointing system in the CEP2 WUs is the worst on WCG--ie, when the WUs are removed from memory (BOINC is closed, computer is suspended and "leave applications in memory while suspended" isn't checked) you lose comparatively a lot of work.

    Now, none of these are showstopping issues, but new users in particular, please be aware of the challenges presented by a solely-CEP2 diet :)
    Aquinus, Mindweaver and Chicken Patty say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    If you guys want I can place this in the OP or Brandon can. Up to you guys but it's definitely good info and I think everybody should view. I PERSONALLY did not know this.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,257 (10.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I added it to the OP. I have noticed a 3 degree increase but I thought it was cause of my crappy H50
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Well now we know why :) Good info for sure!

    Thanks ION! :rockout::rockout:
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,484 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    RamDisk experiment...

    So, it begins.

    I have formatted a 4GB partition, G:, in 4k allocations. I have pointed RamDisk to save it's 3GB cache every 12 minutes to G:.

    I uninstalled BOINC, Reinstalled updated WCG to my new, CEP2, School profile. Set it all up, just now, and when it finishes downloading and starts running...

    Well, in less than a half an hour, I should know if this is working.

    Wish me luck! :toast:

    Update1.

    Well. I allocated 6 more GB to the BOINC partition. However, I think I may have a problem. The jobs, all two, were running and the RamDisk was saving to the new partition. Then, my memory use shot up, the HDD went full on and BOINC sent me a message about needing more space. So, herein lies what may be the killer of this RamDisk experiment, I can only allocate 3GB of my 8GB and still function as computer, not just a cruncher. I need both right now. That 3GB is the size of the image file it saves on the new BOINC partition. It cannot grow any larger, like I need it to do. So, even though that 3GB file is working dynamically to new info being inserted, as CEP2 is needing to do, the 3GB limitation of the reused saved image seems to be the killer.

    I gonna give it another run, right now. If I get the same BOINC message, as I suspect, It is a dead experiment, due to physical RAM limitations. Because I don't know how to have RAMDisk use more of the 10GB than it's own 3GB physical size, as a save.

    Update 2.
    Well, I think that it is not gonna work, I actually am now SURE, since BOINC won't download any WU's now.
    So, I am going to go and change BOINC, uninstall and reinstall, so it just writes to the new partition. Dump the RAMDisk. Then, in a couple days try the SuperSpeed cache using the 14 day trial. If I can make that work, I expect it to be better, I will probably download it next paycheck. Since it will be UBER useful later when I upgrade to a SSD, also.

    So, there it is. A failure due to lack of Physical RAM available to me on this Laptop. Oh well, a learning experience, as well. Hopefully, a this can be useful for someone else, also. RamDisk from DataRam can work if you can set up a RamDisk that is large enough, say 6 to 10 GB, for a CEP2 cache of around 4 to 6 WU's at a time. 3GB would work, I think, if you just ran one WU at a time. That is not what I am aiming to do so, I am not going to test that, since I want to keep crunching and limit the time of experimenting. In theory though, based on this test, 1 WU would run and complete.

    Anyways, like I mentioned earlier, I will try the superspeed cache, later, and update then how it works for me.

    Arjai, out!

    :D
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2013
    Black.Raven and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. sabre23

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    114 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63

    Will my WD Green will survive disk thrashing as it is only got 2 yrs warranty? i dont want to destroy it. I am thinking of running only 2-3 CEP at a time.
    Will WD Black or intel SSD 520 will survive thrashing better?
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    A standard hard drive will be totally fine. The "thrashing" impacts day-to-day performance on slow drives more than reliability of the drive itself. The SSD should be fine, too--it's a modern drive and I'm confident that Intel has put work into making the flash chips better stand up to repeated writes.
    sabre23 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,137 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,056
    I still haven't changed over yet but I need to do this soon. All this talk about CEP2 being much harder to run has made my enthusiasm wane a bit; I'm expecting issues tbh. But thanks brandonwh64 and [Ion] :)
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7,724 (9.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,596
    I wouldn't worry about it too much- they run fine on nearly all of my rigs :toast:

    The file size of the upload (over 45MB) is a bit of an issue in one location due to having a small internet connection.

    Try just increasing the # of work units you can run to 8 with no other changes and see how you do ;)
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. torgoth

    torgoth

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    106 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    So I've created the profile, how do I set it in the BOINC Manager?
    edit: nevermind I figured it out, hope it works!
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,608
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Nice thread brandon! Good job! :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,139 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,721
    Location:
    Mexico
    For the record, CEP2 can use as much as 400MB of RAM per WU. They usually hover below the 300MB mark but from time to time I get WUs that take >380MB. I have disabled CEP2 on the X4 620 for this reason (it runs W7 Starter).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,032 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,251
    Thanks for the note TRWOV.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,137 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,056
    So I change my main rig over to CEP2 now. After downloading the WUs and after they started running, the CPU stayed around 10-30% for a bit, and it just finally shot up to 99%, where is seems to be staying now.

    Does that sound alright?
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,257 (10.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yep sounds just like mine
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,137 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,056
    Thanks, good to know. And thanks for the OP guide, followed it as closely as possible, other than the one program :eek:
    I hope it continues to play nicely :)
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Yup, one of the quirks is that it has to load a bunch of stuff from disk and spool up to speed--I suspect that if you had looked at the HDD light, the drive would have been very busy :)
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,137 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,056
    Yeah figured as such. Since it all smoothed out and went to 100%, I'm thinking it should be fine.

    Also, since I read about a lot of disk trashing of whatevs, I installed to the HDD, the programfiles and programdata folders, so hopefully it'll do less on the ssd, as I'd hate to loose performance on my 830, as it is getting older now. Maybe I'll give it a test after the CEP2 Challenges ;)
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page