1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Warning About New Razer Products

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xenocide, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,127 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Apparently Razer has announced a couple new products and a new iteration of their drivers. The downside, is that these drivers are basically always-online DRM. Meaning, if you are not connected to the Internet, your mouse does not work. If you happen to be in the market for a new Keyboard or Mouse, I'd steer clear of Razer products for the time being--I myself have an older Razer Arcosa keyboard but I've never used their drivers for it (no point).

    Sensationalized Source: http://www.overclock.net/t/1319323/...internet-connection-or-their-servers-are-down

    Non-Sensationalized Source: http://www.techdirt.com/articles/20...rnet-connection-youre-doing-cloud-wrong.shtml
  2. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    639 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    Wow! Always-on DRM for drivers :laugh:

    I never really liked Razer products but my brother does (he has a bunch of their mouse/keyboards/headsets)... Thanks for the tip... :toast:
  3. aayman_farzand

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    102 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    what...what.....WHAT...this is funny but I can't laugh because of how pathetic it is.
    adulaamin says thanks.
  4. STCNE

    STCNE New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    242 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    you wouldn't download a car... and we're making sure you aren't going to download our mouse...

    No really, what is the point of this? They can't say it's to stop piracy for obvious reasons. The only other thing I can think of is that there is some kind of tracking or monitoring thing in that software. Likely something to see what games you play and what your DPI setting is but it's going to be a major blow to Razer if something like that comes out of this.
  5. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    868 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    LOL - Thanks for the warning - My current Diamondback 3G needs replacing and I WAS going to go Razer again - but after this they can go directly to HELL, not pass begin, not collect $200
    adulaamin and liivainimene say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    566 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    mwhahah. Oh man, what will they think of next? Razor blows.
  7. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    868 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    And don't even come with this CRAP about saving your settings online - everyone is saving the mouse settings IN MEMORY INSIDE THE MOUSE on high end mice these days already.

    So What, you are going to go to a LAN, but not take your mouse? Or your PC? but then they have a spare PC for you with the EXACT SAME MODEL OF MOUSE? so you can log in and get your settings?

    ARE YOU FFKING KIDDING ME?

    And is it so important that your settings never change that you would prefer the mouse SIMPLY DOES NOT WORK rather than have the dpi set wrong?

    Go to hell Razor.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Yes, they need always-on DRM in mice because pirating peripheral equipment has been a long standing problem for hardware vendors...
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  9. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    868 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    And the pirate drivers are released in 3... 2... 1....

    Well done Razor - like so MANY MANY other DRM-like systems you have just CREATED an entirely new form of piracy where previously there was none. Way to support hackers and piracy! They would all be out of work without people like you.
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    831 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Is this linking up with their new Synapse cloud thingo?
  11. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Ubisoft bought Razer O.O
    adulaamin and dank1983man420 say thanks.
  12. chinmi

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    89 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Indonesia
    wow... maybe they do it to cut cost by not having to implant a memory module on the hardware/gaming peripheral...

    this is just silly...

    thank god i still use my logitech gaming gear.... huff.... their ability to put some profile settings on the hardware is a godsend....
  13. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    267 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Thanks for the useful info. next will be DRM Razer headset?
  14. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    THANKS for the info. Go suck a cue-ball Razor.

    I'm pretty sure this is illegal. FORCING the customer to revoke rights and allow Razor to send personal usage information to their server.

    I hope they get sued. BIG TIME. FINED. And forced out of business. It is the only way these people will learn.
  15. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    If you are going to report news, do it right.

    The mouse works just fine offline, but you can't change many of the settings. This is done because they say it is too expensive to store all of the information inside of the mouse.

    The problem I see with this is that solid state memory is very inexpensive in small amounts. They could put 1GB of memory in the mouse for less than a dollar in manufacturing costs.
    segalaw19800 and newconroer say thanks.
  16. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    3870x2. There is no reason settings can't be saved on the local PC. If you take a look at the carefully worded Razor legal bit... you will see they are doing MUCH MORE than just "storing your settings" in the cloud. I don't like the whole concept of drivers phoning-home and nulling your hardware features if it can't talk to big brother.
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I am not saying what they are doing is right, I am just saying that the mouse is still usable. You know, unbiased and such.
  18. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    :toast: 10-4
  19. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Never planned to use their products anyway, but thanks for the heads up.
  20. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    It's usable, just with reduced functionality.

    How would you feel if you paid the $80 price tag for a unique gaming mouse then try to use it only for it to work as a crappy $10 mouse? Pretty lame if you ask me.

    Reducing functionality for an overpriced item will have backlash. Reddit was already up in arms about this, just a matter of time before Razer makes the official statement.


    Let alone the fact that I have to create a profile just to customize the mouse. AND the Synapse 2.0 software is always reporting home.

    Why does my mouse need to have software that mandates an internet connection, that collects PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION about me, and that will not let me use full functionality of my mouse if I disagree to the terms.

    And I quote:
    http://www.razerzone.com/synapse2/subscriber-agreement
    http://www.razerzone.com/synapse2/privacy-policy

    Screw them.
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    I updated my firmware on my keyboard via the Synapse software and then formatted windows. F@#K THE POLICE!
    adulaamin says thanks.
  22. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Does not compute, etc, etc...

    Where's Aquinus? His avatar is needed here!
  23. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    It's easy enough to block their software from calling home. You can even do it with Windows Firewall. Took me maybe 5 minutes to do this.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    last couple of weeks I had been thinking of trying out a Razer mouse.
    But after reading this, probably not.

    but then again, I was not going to buy one of the mice which would require software.
    I don't even use the software with my MX518.
  25. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    You might have misread. If it can't call home, it loses functionality.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page