1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water Cooled, Sandy Bridge 2600K

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by xbonez, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Back on my desktop. Gonna run some tests before beginning to OC.
     
  2. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Let's see some numbers!
     
  3. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Started adding benchmarks
     
  4. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
  5. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
  6. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    subbed, i hope you gona be happy with thet board. :)
     
  7. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Since I made my last post of the benchmarks at stock, I have been OC'ing the chip. I believe I have reached the max OC I am comfortable with, for now. Details will be posted shortly. Currently, I'm working on minimizing the voltage at which I can run my OC.
     
  8. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    OC complete, posted benchmarks. Have a look, tell me what you guys think.

    (Sorry for double post. Just wanted to make sure all who're waiting are notified).
     
  9. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,563 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Surprised the temps aren't lower.
     
  10. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    No one uses SPI 4M...If you want to compare with others use 1M or 32M. ;) (I see you have speedstep enabled...that will impact benchmarks.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  11. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Alright, I'll benchmark those too. I just really wanted to compare stock vs OC, so I didn't think too much before picking up 4M.
     
  12. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
  13. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,563 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    I'd consider 1.4v as the highest 99.9% safe voltage. People have gone to 1.7 or more in stressing, heard of one guy running 1.6v 24/7. I think if it takes you 1.5v to do 5ghz you'd be safe doing that if you just put it on speed step so it's not running maxed like that at all times. Also worth noting is there seems to be errors with voltage reporting in some programs with certain boards. So technically there's some vagary right now about what voltages people are actually running.
     
  14. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Yeah, apparently CPU-Z (the regular ver.) doesn't report correct. The beta version does. I tried running both and get the same reading.

    As for having speedstep and 1.5V, it won't do much for me coz its going to be a dedicated folding rig, so t'll be at 100% load 24/7. hence, I'm not crossing 1.4V for now.
     
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Wow sexy, needs more photo's though!
     
  16. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I agree, but not the terrible quality I've been posting.

    I miss my DSLR I sold off a month ago coz I wasn't using it anymore, but I just bought a Canon Point&Shoot. Once I get that, I'll post more pics.
     
  17. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Any updates ?
     
  18. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Got the camera, but no cable or card reader...lol. Ordered from Amazon, card reader will be here on Tue
     
  19. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :banghead:

    No best buy to grab a 10 dollar reader at ?
     
  20. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Without a car, Amazon is my best bet than the nearest best buy which isn't that close
     
  21. mATrIxLord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    88 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    awesome build!!
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  22. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    It's tuesday so i expect to seem some better pics later! Check out this thread once after you get your camera ;) Do you happen to have a tripod? Thats all im needing now for some good pics!
     
    t_ski says thanks.
  23. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Not anymore :(. I used to have an awesome 600 dollar DSLR and tripod, but I got rid of them a little while ago. And amazon just emailed saying they cancelled the card reader order because they are out of stock.....sigh
     
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    :mad: That sucks man! Shoulda ordered off the egg. They get stuff to you super quick anyways don't they?
     
  25. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Yup, doing that now. Should be here soon.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page