1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water cooling an Antec 300

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by p_o_s_pc, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    As the title says this project is about water cooling my Antec 300. Things maybe slow for awhile as i am waiting on parts.

    GOALS
    Fit everything for a water cooling setup INSIDE the case and keep a clean look.

    The rig as it stands. As you can see i have some work to do if i want to fit a 120mmx2 rad in there


    [​IMG]


    Post any thoughts and idea's you may have :toast:
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2010
    [Ion] and Chicken Patty say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    It's not a 300 but this Panzerbox was quite small. Maybe it will give you some ideas. :)

    [​IMG]
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    alrighttttttt, :toast:
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Panzer box is taller allowing the dual rad up top but the 300 might require a single rad?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    It may actually be shorter with the orientation of the PSU mounting. The 300 has a single fan, but a saw and a dual rad mount would work.
     
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i have a dual rad and trust me it WILL go in.Looks like i am going to have to do alot more cutting then first planed but shouldn't be much harder

    I am going to be removing the HDD bay and the whole front of the case to get everything cut also the bottom part of the 5 1/4 bay is getting cut out. I am going to have to buy a rivet gun
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    See were erockers dual RAD is and were the motherboard try ends at the top? It looks perfectly designed BUT his motherboard tray is VERY close to the top and could hit or block the dual rad from being mounted
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Cut the front out of the A300 and you can place a 2x120mm RAD in there.
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I was thinking of this also! take out the whole hard drive bay and use it for the rad and mount your hard drives in a 5.25 to 3.5 adaptor under your CD/DVD drive
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    read my post that i also quoted :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL POS i totally missed that! yea it will look GREAT!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    my goal is to have it look something like this one but with push/pull fans and my setup is alittle different as i am going to be using a OCZ Hydro pulse and a Swiftech micro res and my rad is shaped alittle different (that causes a problem)
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    subcribe :D

    Edit: this will get me ideas whenever i decided to go under h20, i also have antec 300
     
  14. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I have an A300 I'm not using...make a decent job of this and you may well persuade me to WC mine. :)
     
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I hope i make you guys decide to do the same to yours. Keep in mind this is my first bigger mod i have done.My last time water cooling i just ran the tube out of the back of the case and had the rad sitting on my desk :roll: I didn't even want to mess around with it but this time it has to look nice and be able to move it...

    Now tomorrow i should have the HDD bays out and have a idea of how the rad is going to mount.

    I got an email and my pump is on back order who knows how long that will take :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    sorry but i didn't get anything done yet as i forgot that today was training day so i had to hit the gym for a while today and was too tired/sore when i got home. I have plans most of the weekend so i plan to work on it monday after school
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i would do the same as in #12

    subbed:toast:
     
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    funny you should say that... That is what i have started on doing.I only got to drill out the front rivets couldn't get to the other ones with the drill so i am going to have to break the Dremal out
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I need some advice/ you opinion
    Black tube or clear tube?

    If clear it will show the green coolant in it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Always bet on black! Black tubing is dead sexy and will match your case very well.
     
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Clear tubing but with dark liquid inside looks epic : ]
     
  22. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    What about the dyed tubing? Basically get clear tubing and some black dye and "cook" the tubing in the dye for various amounts of time to get a nice smokey color.
     
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,197 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Makes me think that the coolant needs a change 1 year ago :ohwell:

    My vote goes to clear, if the coolant needs changing then you will instantly know. Also, a bit of contrast would be nice.
     
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    wow fast replies. I am not sure

    I am thinking of doing everything in "blackout" way(black mobo,black case,black GPU,black tube)

    then at the same time i think the contrast idea would also look cool. so more input please
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I put about 6 drops of black dye into my loop, was enough to make the water very dark whilst still being clear enough I could see particles if they ever built up.

    Here's picture of the loop
    [​IMG]

    Clear/blue uv reactive tubing with black UV reactive water.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page