1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water cooling parts advice for a beginner?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Irony, Mar 6, 2013.

1. Irony

Irony

Thanks Received:
    So after I got my 8350 and saw my mighty Noctua NH-D14 brought to its knees, I decided that I'm suddenly interested in watercooling. I have been doing alot of reading and have found a few parts that I think I like, but I would like to get some advice and suggestions since I have no practical experience. (I've installed a couple AIO units but thats not really comparable...) Right now I'm just picking parts, I won't be buying anything for a while still.

So my first question is case. I have a HAF 932 currently, but I really like the NZXT switch 810. Would that be worth getting?

I looked at blocks and decided I like EK the best. I like the circles everyone seems to hate, lol. Not sure between This block and This one. The difference is the clear one I would only get if I wanted to do colored water. Not sure if thats silly.

CPU will be all thats getting cooled first off, because my 670 stays at or below 50c. But eventually when nvidia 7xx series is here I might upgrade to something I could add to the loop. So what size radiator would I need? I like the Alphacool nexxxos UT60. If I stick with this case the biggest I could use is a 240mm.

For pumps and reservoirs I really don't know anything. MCP35x seems like a good pump. And for radiator I don't know whats better, drive bay res or internal one.

What does everyone say? Thanks

Folding for Team TPU
  2. ZenZimZaliben

ZenZimZaliben

Thanks Received:
    Here's the thing about water-cooling. Once you start, and see the gains, it is very hard to stop yourself from expanding your loop. Next thing you know you will want the GPU watercooled, then the Mobo Chipset.

So always buy more then you need...Radiator, Pump and Res.