1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water cooling pump dying?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MxPhenom 216, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Was playing Battlefield 4 tonight, when my system turned off, and rebooting with a POST message saying:

    "CPU Over Temperature Error"

    First time I have ever seen that, and usually my CPU never gets higher then 50. I took my headphones off and noticed that my system seems a bit quieter, no pump noise really. Turned off the system. Let it sit for a bit, turn it back on, and noticed my GPU temp got to 50c on boot, it doesn't even hit 40c in games. Stuff seems to be fine now though at idle, GPU temp is 26c (still a bit high) CPU at about 23c (which is normal). I have noticed that lately my pump has been acting funny, but it is hard to tell that it is actually working now.
     
  2. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    GMT +2
    did you tried to use scroll of resurrection on pump
     
    MT Alex and RCoon say thanks.
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    The what? Sounds like a Skyrim reference..........
     
  4. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    GMT +2
    then you go here and get your new pump.
    you can test your current pump. but in any case you'll have to disconnect loop :(
     
    m343 says thanks.
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,966 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,084
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    World of Warcraft reference, or at least they use a similar thing.
     
    xvi and ne6togadno say thanks.
  6. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    GMT +2
    wasnt sure if he have learned res spell so using scroll will work for sure
     
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Do you have a flow monitor? That's the best way to tell if your pump is giving up, aside from checking your usual idle and load temperatures.


    I'd use vodka redbull directly injected into the loop compared to a resurrection scroll btw.
     
    manofthem, RCoon and the54thvoid say thanks.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,953 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    There should be some kind of movement in the reservoir.
     
  9. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,472 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Think I'm thread stalking you. Normally it's RCoon who I seem to shadow.

    I use a Primochill flow monitor (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DLUX0QW/?tag=tec06d-20) - for this exact reason, I'll know when my pump stops squirting and my PC needs a trip to the Laing D5 Viagra clinic
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,966 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,084
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    This is also a valid reason to employ quick disconnects before and after the pump unit!

    EDIT: Stick your hand on the pump. If you can't feel a gentle hum, the pump is dead. Usually before a pump dies it makes a terrible grinding noise.
     
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  11. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Yeah I switched almost all of my fittings to quick disconnects, this way I can detach pump, res , GPUs, CPU and motherboard without emptying the loop.

    I never have to refill the loop, even when I switch out major components.

    That's one of the reasons I don't use a case :)

    It's a bit costly though, quick disconnects are expensive.
     
  12. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,566 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,677
    I have wanted to use a flow monitor in some of my builds. Right now I am using a Koolance dual pump res 5.25" bay and I like the fact that I can see the water moving:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    529 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Dunno bout you guys but i would just touch the pump to feel if its vibrating.

    One of my old pumps shit itself and it used to make a hell of a noise.

    What pump you using?
     
  14. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    GMT +2
    problem is that he already missed hell of a noise moment and now even touching it he wont make any difference if he hasnt touched it while it was working.
     
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So going to bump this thread back up instead of making a new one. There must be a problem with this pump or the way I have it connected to the PSU, as itll have trouble either starting up (ill hear it click) or when it does it makes a audible high pitch screech noise, and when it is running, sometimes itll just turn off, like its not getting enough power. I have it connected to the PSU with a 3 pin to 4 pin molex connection. Been thinking about just getting a brand new MCP350 from PPCS that come default with just the 4 pin molex connection, rather then 3 pin.
     
  16. theo2021

    theo2021

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Your connection should be good since the 3pin and the molex have max 12V!
     
  17. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    Ever pull the top off the pump? And I assume its a 350 mpc. I had a problem with the power and turned out that when the power was plugged into the molex it would sorta pugh out the pin from the housing it self. I just pushed it in with atiny screw driver and never nad an issue sense. Id take the pump head apart and pull the iimpeller out and clean it up. I had a tiny clicking noise that pissed me off and what I found was a tiny piece of metal from a thread probably from production. Anyway the impeller being magnetic attract and sliver of metal and hey ya never know. ;)
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I just said fuck it and bought a brand new MCP350 from PPCS
     
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,914 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    the pump itself is two parts. mechanical and electronic motor.
    mechanical part wont fail... its an impeller. but electronics will definitely fail.
     
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,144 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    maybe the bearing, but it should run for long term
     
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,914 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    more likely for the coil to fail. sudden load can cause too much current through and fail.

    even if bearing fails, it would turn. unless bearing is made of plastic.
     
  22. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,677 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    If the new on has the 3 pin connector with single wire for RPM monitor from mobo fan port then use it.
     
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,307
    I have thought about using a Raven RFM15 a few times in mine, but don't know where it would fit in the case, the PWM header would read the sensor output.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    funny, my pump just died too. it was a combo res with pump inside. turned on my system friday and noticed overheating, then pump not pumping.

    got a new mcp665-b, no res, and can't seem to get water to go through cpu block. took it off and washed it out don't see any blockage.

    very annoying process so far.
     
  25. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,307
    Is the pump primed? No blockage of the impeller?
     
    PopcornMachine says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page