1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

water cooling system on the new lianli pc 50 b/r case

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by neuropass, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. neuropass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello guys i just built my new system (see below ) and i'm thinking about a Custom water cooling only for the CPU ( I'm reading this TOPIC about it) but what would you build if you had this lian li case? i want to hide the reservoir and the drive bay space, so i will have only the tubes and water block visible. what do you think about it? Sorry for the huge post:eek:

    [​IMG]


     
  2. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Are you planning on some heavy overclocking? overclocking your cards?
     
  3. neuropass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes i would like to push the CPU with the water cooling . but not the vga.
     
  4. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Well your plan sounds alright then.. if your just gonna water block the CPU you probably don't need a really high priced radiator.. a 2X 120mm rad would probably be overkill for just your CPU but I would suggest getting one for longevity i.e. in case you decided to add something else to your waterloop. You may want to consider getting a north bridge block if you are going to be raising your FSB and RAM to high levels.. as being able to push more voltage through your NB will allow you to attain stability and higher clocks when you drastically increase your FSB... unless of course your overclocking through the multiplier.. than ignore what I said about the NB block.
     
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    That will work... I have a rad hidden like that in the case. But you wil definitely need a double rad for that cpu, as it runs hot as ****. The price difference is almost nothing.

    UN designs and Lian Li both make brackets that will hide a rad in the drivebay no problem

    It also works better because the rad is exposed to cold air (as opposed to warm air if you hang it off the back.

    If its cpu only, I would get an XSPC drive bay resevoir and pump combo.

    A Enzotech Sapphire block from newegg ($33ish i think)

    And a MCR 220...

    I would also get either purple or dark red (blood red) coolant (pre-mixed not a dye) to make it look like veins lol.
     
  6. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I think he wants the res hidden .. not the rad.. unless I'm mistaken. :toast:
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    ah youre right... well... he can hide both lol.:laugh:
     
  8. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    :laugh: For sure man. I'm kind of confused by this thread lol.. what exactly are you asking OP? Just our personal opinions on the setup? You should list what you plan on putting in water loop so we can have a better idea on where you should/could mount the different accessories.
     
  9. neuropass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol sorry guys, what i want is hide as much as i can all the big parts, radiator, pump, reservoir etc. SO the only things visibile through the window will be the cpu water block and the tubes... and ya i wanted your opinion on how you would do it with that lian li case...
     
  10. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Looks like you were right ma friend ;)
     
  11. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Well you could mount your rad on the top of the inside of your case.. might have to do a little bit of modding though... is there a 140mm fan at the top of your case?
    -Hey man, I'm off to play some Kill Zone 2.. I'll check back in on this thread later.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2009
  12. neuropass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ya i have to 140 mm fans... default from lian li.. do i need 2 to radiators or 1 is more than enough?
     
  13. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    You are going to need more than a double rad if you plan to OC at all. You will want a triple or a quad for good measure. A single won't work at all, and with a double you will just get hiigh temos at load (80+*C) at higher OC's.
     
  14. neuropass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ?? are you serious? 4 radiators?:confused:
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    You can do it with a double rad... but you will be hitting 70C max load with a moderate-high (4.0gz) OC.

    having said that, that temp is perfectly fine, and is 15C lower than the best aircoolers. Frankly its probably 2c lower than the max load temp you would hit at stock with the stock cooler. That's pretty clear that intel doesn't mind the nehalems/lynnfields running at those temps.

    But yeah... if youre going to pump 1.4v and go for a 4.3Ghz-4.5ghz OC, you will prolly be loading at least 80C+ (especially in linpack and things like that).

    A triple rad is overkill IMO. But then again, Im OK with 65-80C temps (for a chip rated for 100 tjmax and giant cases with WC gear hanging off the back are no longer something I like) - just use a good low FPI rad (like a feser or an xspc) and put some decent fans on it (wire the fans to the CPU mobo header to control their speed by the temp of the CPU)

    Also keep in mind that a good, double thick double rad up front, with cold air coming through it is the same/better than a triple hanging off the back with the PSU and videocards venting heat through it. So I would stick to your plan and get the rad brackets.

    http://www.pricebat.ca/Un-Designs-R...ing-Any-Model-Dual-120MM-Radiator.p_10100615/.

    Later on, if you decide that the temps are still too high... add another single rad on the back 120MM exhaust. That will dump another few hundred watts of heat.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2009
  16. neuropass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Ok i got it now. also thanks for the canadian website. i didn't know that one. definitely handy!

    what about the pump? what should i considering that i want to cool down only the cpu?
     
  17. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    you won't need something super-powerful... I would recommend an MCP 350... small, easy to hide, less whiny than the 355.

    http://www.shopbot.ca/pp-swiftech-mcp350-swiftech-price-41551.html
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page