1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water Cooling T-Line Question?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by 20mmrain, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Currently I am running a single loop in this config....

    Pump/Res>CPU>360Rad>2xFull GPU Blocks>240rad>(Back 2 original) Pump/Res

    and I noticed in my setup it is going to make it difficult to drain. So I am considering adding a t-line to help with that in the future.

    But I have never added a t-line and I had a few questions before I did....

    1. Is it a good Idea to use a res and a t-line in a single loop like this?

    2. Will it cause a decrease in water movement?

    3. Will it cause a lot of problems to bleed my loop because of it?

    4. If all of these are not problems ..... where would be the best placement for it?

    Thanks in advance guys! :toast:
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  2. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I'm running res-pump-quad rad-(t-line)-cpu-gpu(soon to be)-res. I have no temp issues, runs quiet and cool enough. I'll post a pic of the t-line when I get in from work.
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    Put the T line at the highest point if possible it will help with bleeding the loop
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  4. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    520 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Thats weird. I though it would be at the bottom. Doesnt water always want to drain to the lowest point? Please explain? I always drain mine at lowest point in the loop.
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  5. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    ditto. low point on mine too.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
    20mmrain says thanks.
  6. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks for the Advice guys.... yeah if we could clear up top or bottom mount that would be awesome.
     
  7. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    Highest point if you need easier fill access and help bleeding your loop,the bottom if all you want to use it for is a drain
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,099
    put one on both, that way you have an air trap at the highest point, and a drain when you need to replace the coolant or add a component later;)
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  9. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks guys.... Guess it will work just fine. I was just more worried about it being to much of a problem in terms of liquid flow for a single pump.

    But it doesn't sound like it will be a problem at all. I have the standard Adjustable Alphacool VPP655 pump that I am sure is strong enough
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,099
    water will try to find the easiest route. Through the t-line it will tend to pass that junction due to no place for the flow to go (sort of is an eddy in the loop).
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2012
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA

    Makes sense.... I didn't think about it that way.... But it totally makes sense
     
  12. Irocing

    Irocing New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    AZ (Area 52)
    I'd put it as low as you can but also depends where the rez is as to help in bleeding.

    Mine, And works great.
    Just a thought.


    [​IMG]

    Later;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page