1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water cooling... to the next level.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Nossy, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Iv just come into posession of an ice bank water chiller that Im wanting to get my computer hooked upto. So if I run my two gpus though the loop what would the best set up be? gpu1, gpu2, pump, air rad, water rad (maybe another pump), gpu1 etc....

    The air rad would be to get rid of the extreme heat before the water cooler has to get rid of it. Will help allot with power load. Not sure if ill need a second pump?

    Thanks for any help guys,
    Nossy
     
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,181 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    reservoir > pump > gpu 1 > gpu 2

    what do you mean with
    you wanna run the air through tube?
    if you have air in your loop it would affect your cooling performance and make it more noise when working
     
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Air rad = fans used for heat dissipation
    water rad = radiator submerged in a tub of water for heat dissipation
     
    d1nky and micropage7 say thanks.
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Do not forget that if you have chilled water and tubing/fittings that are cooler than ambient air temps, you WILL get condensation.
     
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,181 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    o yeah, i must a miss something
    :)
     
  6. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ahhh the old res. My bad. The idea of the air cooled rad is to help get rid of high heat load and the refrigerator is simply to cool. I have some electronic switch gear so it should be quite easy to get id of condensation. so would one pump do the job?
     
  7. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    New Zealand
    And should I make it like this... gpu 1 gpu 2 res pump air rad water radmaybe another pump?
     
  8. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    ive done this (but used frozen water) and know of many that do this 24/7 with ponds and all sorts.

    condensation is a major problem especially in warmer/humid times. the socket and cards will need to be insulated. also the hose will need to be insulated closer to the electronics. or use norprene tubing.

    two pumps are always better than 1 with larger loops. if the chiller is close to freezing the coolant, then antifreeze or alcohol would be needed. also the water flow restriction of the chiller would need to be compensated for.

    an air rad before the deep chill would need testing or some physics to work out if its actually more efficient in cooling and energy. (it could actually be working against the chiller)

    also if submerging rads in the chiller you'll need some kind of movement for the chilled water to travel through the rad to dissipate more energy. (depends on the chiller, if its piped etc)

    and then theres the effect of corrosion on the rad externally. so distilled would be best maybe with some kind of additive/ anti-corrosive.

    or you could always use the water from the chiller and have it as a big 'reservoir' if the pumps can handle it, also temperature probes would help.

    about it for now, oh and water temperature doesn't change much in a loop. its efficiency to conduct heat isn't 1:1 so there would be no extreme heat. it's just the source and block that gets hotter while the water gains temperature more slowly.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2014
    Nossy says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page