1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Watercooling: A good setup?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by JrRacinFan, Mar 7, 2009.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    OK, I have been contemplating doing a watercooling setup guys and I need your insight.

    Going by the diagram I drew, does this seem like a good setup?

    [​IMG]
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    what size tubing are you planning on using JR?
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Lookin at 1/2".
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    As I mentioned before, I wonder about if t fittings and extra tubing will some how decrease performance, and from talking to fit about GPU blocks, they tend to be restrictive, so that could work against that idea. Although, breaking the GPU off like that could keep the flow through the CPU unaffected. Obviously 7/16" tubing (fits better on 1/2" barbs, so clamps aren't as necessary) would be preferred.
    JrRacinFan and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I agree, however a strong pump shouldn't feel it as much, difference should not be too much, hardly if any IMO. I myself use 7/16th tubing on 1/2"barbs and no clamps are needed, I havent' even put on my BP fittings because I don't know how i'm going to remove my tubing :laugh:


    JR, this is the pump I have, I think it is great so far
    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmc12vdcpuw.html
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thats a very good solution to keep things clean and simple. stays out of the way, hiding inside a drive bay. But a regular pump and res would be a better solution IMO, at least thats what everybody told me when I asked about that same exact combo.

    What do you think about this?

    Lets head over to sidewinders, much cheaper there

    Pump 1/2" barbs
    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmc12vdcpuw.html

    Reservoir(bay res)
    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/bi5bayresbla.html
  8. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    JrRacinFan and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I heard the same as well, I however opted for a EK res, I think they look really nice :)

    the difference in pumps is the regular one has a speed controller, see link

    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmc12vdcpu.html
  10. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    Was that a professional Drawing? lol
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Interesting. Thank you for the recommendation Chk pat.

    I had to break out the mad skillz!!! xD

    @everyone

    I may have a CPU block/GPU block/Rad already lined up. Im down to seeing what the rest of your thoughts are about Pump/Res.
  12. jagass New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Wait...I can't see the diagram..Where is that?...
  13. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @viczulis

    Well the thread was basically moreless a question if I should use T lines or not. I hope yours goes well also.

    PS: Which part of Ohio you from? PM me a reply and we will have some chit chat.

    @jagass

    If it helps any
    http://img.techpowerup.org/090306/WaterCoolQuestion.jpg
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thats a good setup viczulis. :toast:

    Jr as far as T lines with a good pump, its just a matter of how hardcore you are :laugh:
  16. dnottis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12

    Don't ever do or suggest this. I've seen so many people doing this all upset that one day a tube let loose and ruined everything in their case. If it's laziness or cheapness - use cable ties at the least. If you dont like the look of clamps... do you prefer the look of a dead mobo and GPU?

    I just really hate when people do this. Some newbie to water cooling is going to think he can just stuck the tubing on the barb and away they go.... to the store to replace dead, water soaked hardware.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  17. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yea I seen diagram thats what caught my eye. Because I was thinking about doing that way. Other Than I was going to split NB/SB instead of VGA.
    But what I've been reading seems most people don't seem thats a good idea. But then I seen you talking about pumps/Res so I threw that in.

    Lorain is where I reside.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  18. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks CP I ws just going through your Thread Thats one nice setup you got there.
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thanks bro, glad you liked it, but I need to urgently get some clamps or zip ties!!! :shadedshu
  20. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    :roll::roll:
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Thank you for this as this will be my first time "jumping" into the watercooling arena.

    Guys if its of any help, this is all going to happen a little after I go quad S775 or possibly an AM3 setup.
  22. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Thats a good one too, i like how it can be mounted virtually anywhere.

    About the MCP655, so you are saying having no speed controller is better? If so why?
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah the res is great, loves how it looks by the motherboard :D


    As far as the pump I didn't say that. I just opted for that one, I dont know why, I saw it cheaper, but then again, I could have paid for the adjustable one. Maybe I was on a budget at the moment. I dont know why I got the one without the speed controller. Regardless it flows very well so no problem.
    KBD says thanks.
  24. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

    ahh, thnx, just trying to figure this out, lol
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    no problem bro, sorry if the post was not clear.

    However what are advantages of adjustable pumps. From what has been posted here my pump the non adjustable one is on level 4 out of 5, would the flow increase sooo much more?

    I assume its quiter on level 1, but in my rig I can't hear my pump :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page