1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Watercooling and lowering my 4770k Temps

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by springs113, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    The problem i have is not really anything serious as of yet...My cpu temps has gone up about 10-12 degrees since adding my gpu to my loop. It used to max out roughly around 74 stress testing, now since adding my gpu to the loop, I have seen the max around 87(core temp/real temp). I have the h220 from swiftech and was wondering what would be the better way to help lower temps
    1. Add another rad?
    2. Add another rad and reservoir?
    3. Add just a reservoir?

    Granted I have been running the valley benchmark that comes with the gpu and futuremark to get my system as hot as possible and maybe as close as possible to playing the games that I will be playing. Also I threw resident evil 5&6 and a lil' street fighter 4 in the mix and the temps don't seem as high(max 75). My gpu temps when running any benchmark has not passed 59 degrees.

    Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Delid!
    240mm rad I'm guessing? Not sure how powerful the swiftech pump is in the H220, but an extra 120mm rad might help, and a more powerful pump may help as well. But to be honest, those chips run hot, and the IHS paste sucks. 87 core temp is not as bad as it could get, but 90 degrees is my personal maximum.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  3. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    GMT +2
    what is your loop configuration
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  4. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Yes it is a 240mm rad and the pump is rated @ 6watts. Not comfortable with De-lidding. those high 80s temps are when i run the Unigine valley benchmark @ 1440p with everything maxed out.
     
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    You OC'd?
    You dont need to delid, and I dont think you will need another radiator, but perhaps a more powerful pump. I'm not a fan of AIO pumps.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  6. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    I am @ 4.4ghz w/ 1.25 vcore. I am using Koolance high perf liquid
     
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I'm on 1.32v core, delidded, and my max temps on a full w/c loop with 360mm rad and dedicated pump are 69-71 degrees. Delidding played a large part in temperature drops. Mayhems pastel coolant here.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  8. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Judging by your specs you are on a different cpu, yours naturally runs cooler. Also it seems that I have air in my system as i can hear a lil gurgle here and thereon full load. Is that normal? I was thinking I should add a reservoir!? I used the original thin mate paste that came with the h220 before, I am using mx4 now maybe that could be a slight cause in my fluctuation?

    And to go out there and buy a pump for roughly another 100 or so doesn't make sense if I am only going to gain a 5 degree drop
     
  9. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    GMT +2
    only pump change may not help.
    cooler is designed to cool only cpu and it is quite possible rad to not be able to handle heat from cpu+gpu. with new pump add also 2 more fans in push/pull config.
    if that doesnt help then add 120 rad after cpu.

    ps dont forget cpu should be before gpu in loop

    edit:
    i think you will have problems to make 2 different pumps to work well together.
    also you have to find way to get rid of air in the loop. air in the rad significantly drop rad efficiency
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013
    springs113 says thanks.
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    My CPU doesnt naturally run cooler, it runs hot as hell because of the voltage, but a proper W/C loop keeps it within high end AIO-Air cooling standards xD. MX4 is fine, I use MX5. Gurgling noise is not good, a reservoir would be a good option so you know for sure there is excess coolant and no air bubbles. Look into the Raystorm 750 res/pump combo unit, that might be a great option for extra pumping power and keeping coolant levels right.

    Pump/res > 240 rad > cpu > gpu > (maybe 120 rad) > pump/res
     
  12. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158

    http://www.thinkcomputers.org/swiftech-h220-adding-to-the-loop/
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?285238-Swiftech-H220-Complete-Review-Part-1-of-2
    H220 VGA Expansion - YouTube
    Swiftech H220 Showcase & REAL-WORLD Performance & ...
     
  13. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Just ran resident evil 5 direct x10 benchmark for about 20 minutes, my rad is lukewarm and my temps are CPU max @68 GPU max @49
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    That seems absolutely fine to me. Just get a cheap res so you can avoid too little coolant in the loop.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  15. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    I know the rad has a built in reservoir but should I get a separate one, I don't think I want to get into the situation on running dual pumps though.my fans are high performance fans.
     
  16. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    I would like to know what it would be like with maybe a little more demanding game like say crysis?bf4? even sleeping dogs?

    But I definitely want to get rid of that gurgling sound. I think I am going to take a trip up to performance pc in a few minutes.
    My gpu temps have never passed 62 ever no matter what I have loaded even with the mild oc i have set on my own.
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Sleeping dogs is the best GPU temperature tester in terms of games. My 7950's used to run 10 degrees hotter in Sleeping Dogs than any other game.
    I'm sure you can pick up a simple bay Res and fittings for cheap.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  18. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    GMT +2
    this looks good.
    there is simple way to check if you have air in the rad.
    take rad out of the case and put it verticaly so that it lay on thickness side. run some bench to heat up sysitem. then check temps at different areas of the rad. if there is area where rad is cooler then the rest then you have air in it. before adding/replaceing parts from loop get rid of the air in it. if that doesnt fix heat issues then you will need to change parts.

    may be res could help to fix air in loop problems
    you can follow either rcoon's chain or go res>pump>cpu>(rad 120 if nothing else help)>gpu>rad 240>res
     
    springs113 and RCoon say thanks.
  19. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Yea Im going to go to performance pc in a few to here what they gotta say i took some photos and videos of my system to help them better assist me so i will keep you all up to date. I'll be answering/replying via cell phone from now on until at least 11 am.
    well I'm here at performance pc... it's a geeks paradise... this place will make your pc orgasm.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013
  20. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    so I bought an additional beefy single 120mm rad, 150 res and some compression fittings along with more tubing and coolant.
     
  21. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    GMT +2
    fans for the 120?
    how you gonna connect your loop
     
  22. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    I'm having a little issue..i know I should go res to pump, pump to 240 rad, 240 rad to gpu, gpu to 120 rad, 120 rad to res...
    Does that sound right to you?
     
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yessir! But it might be more optimal to switch the rad order, 120mm after pump, 240mm after GPU.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    IMO, time for a custom loop.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  25. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    yep

    A nice PA120.3 would handle 600watts.

    You need dual pumps and more rad imo
     
    springs113 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page