1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Watercooling Setup

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by TPLSolutions, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. TPLSolutions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello,

    First of all this is my first post, so hey everybody.

    I've recently bought a new bunch of hardware and got into the whole cooling thing, having always been a programmer and just building my PC I generally never went for such extreme systems before but now I've started I'm hooked.

    I built a PC with the following specifications:

    CPU: AMD x6 1090T
    Mobo: ASUS Crosshair IV
    Mem: Kingston HyperX 4x2GB
    Graphics: Sapphire ATi Radeon HD 5970
    PSU: Corsair 1000w

    That is the basic system, in an Antec 1200 case.

    With that I bought a Corsair H50 "water cooler", pre filled closed loop system, and so far so good with that, my idle temperatures are around 32 C and 52 C under load overclocked at 4 GHz stable, with the memory running around 1550 MHz.

    I play quite alot of games now, and I have been getting the itch to upgrade to full on water cooling with a dual loop system to cool the CPU and GPUs, but I'm a bit nervous.

    The H50 is a great product, it does the job really quite nicely, I adapted it slightly and put the fan that came with it in the bottom of the case for additional air flow, and setup a push-pull system on the radiator using 2x Akasa Viper fans (pretty yellow ones).

    I just put some well hidden cathode blue tubes in there and got a HyperX memory cooler fan setup, but I want lower CPU and GPU temperatures.

    So far my research indicates I'm better off using a non conductive fluid as my biggest fear is smoking this hardware I love.

    So I'm thinking of using this:

    Feser One UV Blue Cooling Fluid 1 Litre

    Feser One UV Blue Cooling Fluid 1 Litre | Ebuyer.c...

    (As you may have noticed I'm in the UK so I have to find a UK supplier for any products)

    My question is, if I want to fit a water block to the CPU and the 5970 graphics card, will I need a dual loop system as I suspect?

    I am looking for the ultimate cooling performance that I can achieve (without being unrealistic), and I've seen a few nice looking blocks for the 5970 GPUs. The AM3 CPU seems to be available from a whole bunch.

    Would you people who know about this sort of thing have any recommendations of what to do in this situation?

    I am eager to buy and get going but I don't want to make a fool of myself and buy crap and get poor performance or worse still blow my hardware to high heaven with leaks where I was too much of a noob to do my research.

    Any help is hugely appreciated and I apologise for the essay!

    Thanks,

    Lee.
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. TPLSolutions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah, I'm not in the US, I'm in the UK, and I think your loop is for an AM2 socket CPU, mine is AM3.

    Sorry. :(
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    the socket is the same as am2/am2+/am3

    that block is one of the best amd blocks out there
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. TPLSolutions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2010
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    both items you picked out are VERY NICE!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TPLSolutions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    looks like a good one! im using a danger den one in my i7
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Hi,

    I'd recommend you don't go for dual loop. It's unnecessary.
    Also, powerful pumps don't change much either.

    Avoid reservoirs with pump built-in. They're loud.
    Better put a pump on a dampening suspension at the bottom of the case and a separate reservoir somewhere high.

    All you need for excellent cooling performance is one loop with large (and thick) radiator(s).
    For particularly quiet and efficient cooling, I recommend thick radiators (like XSPC RX series) with high static pressure type fans (like Scythe Gentle Typhoon).

    You'll have to do some research to find how many, and how long radiators you can fit in your Antec 1200.

    Cheers
  10. TPLSolutions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    One loop would certainly be easier.

    Do you think that it would be enough to get impressive cooling with an AMD x6, and the 5970's 2 GPUs in there?

    I've found a couple of nice looking blocks for 5970 card. Expensive and sadly not UK based, but I need to do more searching.

    What do you think of the radiator I listed above? Would that cover it?

    I believe I can fit a 3x120mm radiator in this case down the front.

    Thanks,

    Lee. :)
  11. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    3x120 will be enough to cool your system (as long it's "thick" type, like XSPC RX360).
    However, don't expect miracles.
    You'll probably have to add another 1x120, or use single 4x120, to get superb cooling and overclocking potential.

    If you're not sure whether you can fit 4x120 rad in your case, go for 3x120 and see. If it's not enough, you can always buy another rad later, and add it anywhere to existing loop.

    If you need UK based block for 5970, why not this: http://www.xspc.biz/razor5970.php


    I know I start looking like XSPC sales representative :)
    Thing is, I've got RX360 and HD4890 block from them and both do their job very well.

    Also, make sure you go for 1/2"ID 3/4"OD tubing. It gives better flow and looks better.
    Cheers,
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  13. TPLSolutions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey,

    Thanks for the suggestions.

    Do you think that CPU block is better than the one I said about above?

    What I'm looking for is the system to be efficient enough for a substantial overclock beyond the 4 GHz I already run, and lower temperatures.

    I wouldn't mind it looking cool too that's why I figured in the UV reactive fluid.

    I'm hoping for 4.4 or 4.5 GHz stable with a small overclock on the graphics card, which with all due respect to Sapphire/ATi has inadequate cooling, as it runs 60 C idle temperatures sometimes.

    I know the 5970 is supposed to cope with it, but lower is better always right?

    Also that website you quoted Robal, nice site! I have been limiting myself to Ebuyer as I know they're reputable but it's epic to see a nice dedicated w/c style shop.

    One more question and it may seem silly this one but for some reason from the research I done I can't remember if it said stay away from copper or not in terms of blocks, that's why I selected that nickel one.

    For example:

    EK Water Blocks EK-Supreme HF - Acetal+Nickel For ...

    Thanks,

    Lee.
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2010
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    My input on it, don't go water in high hopes for a better OC. Go with watercooling for silence with a possibility of higher clocks. But yes, the block is better but by a fraction, only suggested it as its a better block for same price.
  15. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    809 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    I don't know about that particular fluid but there are horror stories about using liquids that include dyes. Supposedly they clog up blocks and leave gunk behind. In addition, from what I've read the ones labeled "Non-Conductive" are only non-conductive for a temporary period (Just like Distilled Water). I see a lot of threads saying "Just use distilled water with some PT-Nuke and buy UV Reactive Tubing if you want it".

    I don't know though, that's just what I've read. I'm sure more experienced watercoolers can comment on this.
  16. IronRuler New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    102 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    You are absolutely right.
  17. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    true, check my build log @ sig for some pics, i just used distilled water and uv tube, and ek supremem hf is one of the best gonna grab one again for 2nd pc

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page