1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Way to run WCG before logon

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Papahyooie, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    600 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Ok so I finally found out why my number were dropping every couple of days. My server, when it would restart for updates or whatnot, wouldnt log into the account because it had a password. I didnt think about this when I set it up. I have a password because a password is required to use remote desktop. My server sits in my living room without a monitor attatched, so I need to use remote desktop in order to use it, or i'll have to tote a monitor in there and restart it when I need to do something with it. So is there any way to make WCG (and F@H maybe too) start before the user is logged on? That way I can use my password but I still dont have to worry about checking it all the time to make sure it hasnt restarted in my absence.
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,329 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Papahyooie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Why don't you just use the "Control userpasswords2" option? Run that command, and set to to not require a password. When you go to click apply, it will ask you what password to use to log in. You can still lock Windows and whatnot by doing this, and I think you'd be able to still use Remote Desktop too.
  4. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    600 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    I will have to try that. I'd like to not have to carry a monitor and set up there when I need to maintain it. Thank you! I hope it works, but if it doesnt I guess i'll just leave the password off and hope I dont have to maintain it that much. Can't having sitting idle without crunching!
  5. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I mean it should work. The service starts with Windows, right? After you log on? Using that command allows you to just push the power button and walk away. But, in your case if the PC is just restarting after updates then it should do everything by itself.
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,329 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Services start with the kernel. For instance, the UPS.exe (Uninterruptable Power Supply) service starts even without logon because it has to be able to shut the computer down regardless of whether or not someone is logged in. The same goes for themes, firewalls, and networking services.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Ah ok. But do you think the method I described will work for him?
  8. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    600 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Lol i didnt even see pbmasters suggestion. I will try Ford's then if that doesnt work, (which i think it will) try pbmaster's then if that doesnt work, give up and let it run without a password and suck it up and tote a monitor and keyboard to it.
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,329 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Never used it so I don't know. All I know is that only services can run without a user.

    Problem is, it might not be easy to interface with a service.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    FordGT90Concept is correct you need to reinstall as a service. Once, you have installed as a service you will be able to enjoy cruching without "user login" after an update has forced your rig to restart.

    Also, after you install WCG as a service. I would change the service login to a user with administrative rights. This will resolve an issue with "no work available" error that could arise after the service install.

    I forgot to add... WCG Client will install as a service.. but, I'm not sure if the BOINC client has a service install...
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page