1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WD problems

Discussion in 'Storage' started by cookiemonster, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I recently bought a new hard drive on 30/08/2011 to replace my faulty one anyway the new hard drive is a Western Digital 750gb WD7502AAEX Caviar Black,Sata 6gbs,7200rpm,64mb cache, it was working ok showing no problems then i started the pc and it would just sat with a black screen and would not go into windows after a while a message came on in the top left corner sayin Disk Error so i rebooted it still black screen and message A Disk Read Error Occurred. I tried to clone the back up to it but there was no E drive showing so I then tried to Format it and reinstall windows but it wouldn't let me, Message came up Windows cannot be installed to this Disk. The Computer Hardware may not support booting to this disk Ensure that the disk controller is enabled in the computer Bios, no matter what i do it just sits there and clicks should i RMA it.
  2. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    530 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Rīga
    Tried to clean master boot record? Cloning often messes up everything.

    On windows just do Diskpart - clean, or boot up some Linux and erase everything... I've had these problems often when dissembling some RAID disks...
  3. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,300 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Check the power and data(sata) cable (both ends of the sata cable, at drive and motherboard or add-on card).
    You may want to try a different sata cable.
    Check you bios settings for the drive.
    Make sure it shows up in the bios ok.

    EDIT: you may, also, want to try booting from the Windows install disk and running the system repair option.
    See option two, here: Using a Windows 7 Installation or System Repair Disc
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  4. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    If its clicking then its dead.

    Its RMA time!
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  5. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi when i try this it doesn't show up Create and format a hard disk partition.
  6. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    530 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Rīga
    Dead Man Walkin... :D

    RMA it...
  7. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks I am getting a bit fed up with WD didn't have this many problems with seagate.
  8. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    530 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Rīga
    If you have a COM Port emulator and skills in Hyper Terminal :D

    I've reseted smart for my fishes twice... :D Nothing is perfect...

    Just swapped my Samsung F4 after only a week of purchase :D

    To be honest, the next drive in my buy list is that new Hitachi Des(th)kstar 1TB single platter... :roll:
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  9. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Ha thats interesting as its the other way around for me thats why ive used WD this past few yrs as i have found Seagate drives seem to fail alot more often.

    Each to there own though.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  10. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    If you have a working Windows computer:
    in the start menu type "computer management"
    from there click on storage
    If the disk isn't recognized it's RMA time if it is create a healthy drive partition and format and then reinstall.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  11. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi tried computer management again and all that is showing is disk 0, (C:) drive and DVD-ROM (D:), I think it is time to get in touch with Scan for an RMA number and label. thanks for all the help and advice.

    cookiemonster.
  12. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Sorry to hear that...Like Melvis I use WD exclusively now because of past and current issues with Seagate and Hitachi....Guess that just goes to show it's luck of the draw...
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,456 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ive had zero issues with WD, seagate now is a different story :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,479 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,304
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I've had issues with both, but I still lean towards WD... just a creature of habit.
  15. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I recieved the RMA details from Scan I hope to get it posted tmoz, as you said maybe just unlucky this time, it is years since i had a Seagate the one i am using just now is a WD, hopefully they will find the RMA one faulty and replace it, i will probably stick with WD better the devil you know. I will let you know what happens.
    jmcslob says thanks.
  16. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Between Seagate and WD I believe it's luck of the draw.

    I have seen just as many failed WDs come in as Seagates where I work.
  17. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Use diskpart and then clean it that way before setup. Solved similar issues for me in the past. Also, try to use punctuation. I am in agony when reading your post.
    jmcslob says thanks.
  18. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    894 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    236
  19. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    That's a good suggestion but if his pc isnt recognizing the drive and he doesnt have another we drive he can't download anything I just had that problem last week but i have other we drives that I waas able to connect via a dock
    Edit
    Wd not we dam auto correct
  20. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi just recieved this from Scan

    Current status of your RMA: Awaiting Replacement / Credit
  21. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I have just been offered a

    750GB Western Digital WD7500AARS Caviar Green, 3.5" HDD, SATA II - 3Gb/s, 5400rpm, 64MB Cache, 8ms, Free-Fall , NCQ

    as a replacement from Scan for the caviar black above which was faulty and they are out of stock and don't know when they will get them in, is the Caviar Green as good and okay to use as a main hard drive
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  22. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    894 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    236
    It spins slower.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  23. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi just been on the phone to Scan and they are replacing it with the

    750GB Western Digital WD7500AARX Caviar Green, 3.5" HDD, SATA III - 6Gb/s, 64MB Cache , 8ms, NCQ, OEM

    thats the one i thought the were sending originally.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  24. TheOne

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    225 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68

    It will have a slower access time, which is normally why you wouldn't want a green drive as the primary OS drive.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  25. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Looks as if I have been done, just have to use it for backing up myother Hard drives to

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page