1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WD Raptor drive going bad? If so, whats a good replacment?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by bud951, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I have been having some issues with restarts, blue screens saying somthing about memory dumps and c: disk error checking in vista 32. My system is mostly new except for my raid 0 hard drives I use for my system drive. They are two 3+ year old 36gb Raptors that have been well used over the years. Since I am getting blue screens and error checks could one drive be going bad? If it is, What would be a good replacment? More Raptors or can the Segate or WD 7200 sata2 keep up? Thanks.
     
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    The perpendicular tech of the seagates keeps up with your raptors just fine... even the 7200 rpm ones.
     
  3. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Raptors Have 5 years warranties, WD will send you new ones then you just send in the old ones.
     
  4. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    i remember having something similar when i first built my rig. cant remember exactly what it was though :eek:

    i would trouble shoot it more before condemming your HD's.

    did you write down the error mssg? if so post it maybe sum1 can help with it :confused:

    i know it worked for me

    :toast:
     
  5. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Diddnt write it down. It was a bunch of numbers and letters and it said somthing about a memory dump. I have had this happen a few times and the error check twice. thats what made me think it was hd related. Could it be my hd's are getting hot? This CM Cosmos case doesnt vent well in my opinion. Thanks
     
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    write down the complete error msg #'s letters and all

    then post it here ;)

    pretty shure youll get your problem sorted out and you wont have to RMA your HDD's :)

    its prolly some setting somwhere thats causing it :mad:

    in my case i think it was RAM related dont really remember :eek:

    when does it seem to happen most?

    :toast:
     
  7. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    My system is overclocked so it may be somthing else. I just changed my fsb to somthing more stable (gonna post about it in another thread) so i will see if it helps. So far nothing since. The error checks kinda threw me. I have had blue screens from oc'ing plenty of times. we will see but i will write it down next time it happens. Thanks
     
  8. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    ahhhhhhhhhh!

    youre oc'ed

    prolly a setting with the RAM ;)

    goodluck

    :toast:
     
  9. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    ^-----or could be the PCI freq?
     
  10. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,855 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    I would go and download UBCD 4.1.1, burn the iso, and run 3-5 loops of MemTest, Windows Memory Test, and a HD test. It's a very nice utility to have and saves alot of time when trouble shooting.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page