1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WD Velociraptor speed problem

Discussion in 'Storage' started by claylomax, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    I have a problem with this drive as you can see in the picture, HD Tune gives me the same result. When I first got the drive, it was fine, the maximum read speed was around 145-150 mb/s minimum 80 mb/s, that was on Vista with the Bios set to IDE as I got no performance increase with the AHCI setting plus the computer would take ages to boot; I then installed Windows 7 and got this speed of 100 mb/s, I since installed Vista back and still got the same problem. I've tried different Sata ports but nothing happened. :confused: Any ideas? Thanks to everybody in advanced.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    use a better program... such as ATTO to benchmark.



    perhaps you have Anti virii or somthing like that running in the background....
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  3. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Uuhmm,are you certain about that speeds?Cos I have WD Velociraptor which is newer and faster that its older brother WD Raptor.and from the very beginnig my speed reaches maximum of 120 mb/s.

    EDIT:Im confused now,in your specs you mention Velociraptor,but in your thread its Raptor.so which one you have?

    EDIT 2: Here is my result in the same program,I had to run it in XP compatibility mode though..I dont like the curve,what can you read from it?something wrong?

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  4. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    afaik.... the 600GB velociraptor is the fastest and newest witch is whats in his specs and in the screenshot.
    Rado D says thanks.
  5. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    ATTO made no difference. :(

    Attached Files:

  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  7. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Sorry, it's this one
    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/600-gb-western-digital-wd6000hlhx-velociraptor-sata-6gb-s-10000rpm-32mb-cache-42-ms
    You're right but my drive's not working now as it was one month ago. :cry:
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    idk... perhaps its a south bridge driver issue... its very unlikely however.
    claylomax says thanks.
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    That drive is fine, nothing wrong with it.
  10. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    but your sequential read curve is nice and constant,while mine is dramatically droping in the cesond half of the graph..anyways I'd like to help you,but nothing coming up in my mind atm,but try to google the issue with the right key words and maybe something usefull comes up.good luck
  11. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia


    the 300GB drive is not quite as fast as the 600GB drive. most drives will start to slow down as the head reaches towards the inner tracks.... there are less sectors? to read to a revolution of the platter.
    Rado D says thanks.
  12. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
  13. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    the samsung drive should be slower then the raptor... it might have a slightly higher throughput but latency will also be much higher.




    what drive is your OS installed on?
    claylomax says thanks.
  14. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    That's the problem, the sequential read curve used to be like yours but starting around 150 mb/s now it's a constant 100 mb/s Access time hasn't changed though.
  15. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
  16. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,567 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Australia
    Here is my 300GB Velociraptor benchmark.

    Attached Files:

    • ATTO.jpg
      ATTO.jpg
      File size:
      168.1 KB
      Views:
      122
  17. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    So what system drivers are you using from nVidia?
  18. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,389 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    my guess is that this is his boot drive which will never reliably give you its speed as things are constantly running regarless of how many programs/services you disable.

    so the benchmarks are going to be less reliable than actually seeing how long it takes to boot, load a game, etc. as compared to before the issue started.

    velociraptors should vary between 120 and 160 MB/s read. 80 is retardedly slow, that's what my RaptorX runs at. But again synthetics aren't going to be reliable on a boot drive. if you had a raid 0 array or ssd I'd say try a file transfer but single drive to single drive is going to be conclusive.
  19. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Latest.
    As I said before, the drive reached the speed seeing on the reviews but one decided to reach only 100 mb/s flat. I just a had crash (while writing this post) and on reboot a black screen said windows needed to check the hard drive which is the only one in the system; I think it's RMA time, I just did a fresh/clean windows install last week and don't want to do another one (install updates and programs) How can I transfer everything from my WD to my Samsung? Is it possible? Never had to do something like this before. All in all I'm very dissapointing with this drive, the sammy is just as fast, except for the access time and way cheaper. :shadedshu

    Attached Files:

  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    Have you error checked the drive? Have you tried different SATA ports? I'm thinking the drive itself has a problem.
  21. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    I did and I'm sure the drive has a problem; I'm going to try on my second computer and if I get the same results I'll RMA it; now after cloning the drive how can I format/delete it properly if you know what I mean; it's not like I have important documents or anything but I'll like to RMA the drive with nothing on it.
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    Run-->Type: CMD

    at the prompt type: format Z:

    Z: = Drive you want to format

    Or, after you clone the drive over, just format it by right clicking on it and select format.
    claylomax says thanks.
  23. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Is Ghost the best program? any other that I should know?
  24. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Well, I put the drive in my other system, a three year old lga775 socket motherboard and what do you know? the drive works fine so I guess the problem now shifts to the motherboard then.

    Attached Files:

  25. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,389 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    a couple things to consider

    1. I'm guessing you're 775 rig has a seperate boot drive, believe me it makes a huge difference in synthetics

    2. your other drive works fine in your mobo

    3. your mobo has 4 blue sata's and 1 black, which did you have the vraptor plugged into?

    if the issue is the mobo I'd recomend looking into a raid controller providing nothing else is wrong. much less hassle in the long run. (especially if you're running raid)

    but if you can try booting up the vraptor as secondary in your primary rig just too check.
    claylomax says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page