1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

weak 3dmark 06 performance + beeps continuously one beep without turning off

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by alialamin, Jun 4, 2008.

  1. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I just built a desktop PC that I was SO excited about because I thought it was going to blow everything away. I was a little disappointed (perhaps unrightly so).

    Before I tell you what the problem is, I'll say that i haven't received my wireless network adapter in the mail yet, and so I haven't been able to actually log on to the internet so that I can get my score from 3d MARK (it only gives you your score online if you have basic).

    The FIRST problem: I ran 3dmark on my computer and it reached 1fps in the test with the huge fort in the middle of the huge mountain, with the little trench-like roads in the valley with very small jeeps fighting each other (you know what i'm talking about?). I was disappointed very much (please see my specs below to see why I was disappointed).

    The Second problem:
    When I first set up the computer, whenever I would turn it off, it would beep continuously (just one continuous beep like your boiling water was ready) and it would not turn off, just sits there beeping that one continuous beep.

    Then after a while it started only doing that when I exit and save from the setup that comes up at startup (is that called the bios?), it does save my changes and everything, it just doesn't turn off or restart, and sits there beeping until i either hold the power button long enough to turn it off or click the PSU power button.

    What is described in the last paragraph is what is happening now.

    I hope someone could decipher what that the beep means, and what if anything I am doing wrong such that my computer(which should just completely rock if I understand what the words 8800GTX and 6400+ mean correctly) is not doing so well on that one test (or maybe that test is not even testing for frame rate? I don't know. I will know what my 3dmark '06 score was when I get my wireless adapter and connect online in a couple of days.

    The THIRD question: P.S. a third question: Am I right to expect this machine to be a beast?

    Here's the computer I just built:

    ASUS M2R32-MVP AM2 AMD 580X CrossFire ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor Model ADX6400CZBOX - Retail

    G.SKILL 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL6S-2GBMQ - Retail

    BFG Tech BFGR88768GTXOCE GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

    ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 512MB PCIe w/Dual Link DVI
    Belkin Wireless G Plus MIMO USB Adapter - Network adapter - Hi-Speed USB - 802.11b, 802.11g, IEEE 802.11g+ (COMING IN MAIL)

    PSU BFG|PC SYSTEM BFGR650PSU 650W R - Retail

    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD4000AAKS 400GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

    LG L206WTY-BF Black 20" 2ms Widescreen LCD Monitor W/ f-Engine

    LG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE Model GH22NP20
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK

    Well the first thing is that that bit in 3dmark is supposed to only be 1-2FPS a second. It is a CPU load test, basically "turns off" the Graphics card and gets the CPu to render everything and work out where all those little things are going. I only get 0.83FPS for test 1 and 1.33FPS for test 2. (the CPu tests).

    A really long beep usually means a serious hardware failure. I have only ever seen it twice. Once when I was OCing this machine, I went too far and got that continous beep after saving myover optimistic setting.
    Then on my dad's machine (see sig) I got it when I had forgotten to plug in one of the PCI-E power connectors into his GFX card. :slap:

    Finally, Your system should perform okay, its definetly not a beast, no offence, cus the Graphics card is way underpowered. I used to have that one, but got sick of not handling the latest games at the settings I wanted to use, even now I want to more, so I'm hopefully getting another 3870 to crossifre soon. As for the rest of your system it seems good, although I don't know too much about AMD cpu's. But the Graphics card I would say is the definate bottleneck in the system.

    Back to the beeping. Have you OC'd ur system. Something like that should be taken very serious, you could be damaging your hardware. Have a good look, make sure everything is properly connected, and try running on stocks, if your not already.
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2008
    alialamin says thanks.
  3. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Second, if your running windows. Dont expect ANYTHING to really work right until you get MICROSOFT UPDATES. Like.NET framework, DirectX, C+++, New NVIDIA DRIVERS!!!!!, There is also a patch fix for 3D mark that came out a while ago.
    alialamin says thanks.
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    lol :slap: . I missed the 8800GTX in there. So yeah that system should be a beast, lol.
    How come you got a 8800GTX in the system with a 2600XT :confused:
    alialamin says thanks.
  5. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2 monitors... lack of proper planning :) otherwise would have gotten an SLI with 2 geforces
  6. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have not played with any overclocking stuff... everything is running as it came from the factory.
    I am REALLY worried now. hmm.

    From what I've read online, the 8800 GTX was the best graphics card out there, am I wrong in that?

    I will post the result of rechecking all my connections in a sec
  7. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    actually i could just use the 8800 for 2 monitors dont even need the other one, you think it would do good to remove it?
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I would, it seems kinda pointless really. And the 8800 has two outputs. What do you use second monitor for?

    And like my dad's are all power connectors properly plugged into the 8800GTx, doesnt it have two if my memory serves me?
    alialamin says thanks.
  9. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well the 8800 came with splitters so i'm using one on each... which might be a bad idea... i'm actually making sure everything is plugged in right now gonna remove the useless ATI from my system... perhaps they'll accept a return at the egg.
  10. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    should i take out the little battery in my MB and reput it in, what does that do?
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    resets the cmos (bios settings). I have never done that. Never needed too. Maybe just, unlpug power, give it a minute then clear cmos using on board jumper or switch depending on what ur mobo uses.

    Surely your PSU has PCI-E power connectors tho?
    alialamin says thanks.
  12. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've done everything... it keeps doing the same thing... i removed all the chassis plugins like for extra usb and sound in front etc... I replugged every single thing back in tightly, I cleared the cmos, nothing... please someone help!
    It still beeps one continuous beep when I exist setup that comes at startup (if you keep clicking delete) and it doesn't restart or turn off... it DOES save my changes, but i have to turn it off manually to stop the beep... then I start it and it runs normally... the only problem is when I exit that setup it makes that noise... normally it turns off normal, restarts normal no problems.

    I would just ignore it, but i don't want to have something wrong with my computer and two days from now my graphics card or MB or processor or whatever gets burned!!

    i am putting on hold using this computer until i find a solution...

    Thanks.
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I've got to go now, dunno what else to suggest. Will have a think about it, I'll be back on later.

    Good luck!
    alialamin says thanks.
  14. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    No offence but anyone can miss basic stuff... check that the molex from the PSU is securely plugged into the back of the 8800GTX.
  15. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah I know anyone can miss silly stuff... I actually checked those a couple of times; but you were on the right track:

    I actually did figure it out somewhat. I took out the gtx 8800 and put my ATI instead... PROBLEM SOLVED!

    BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT, why on earth is it doing that? Why does my gtx 8800 cause the motherboard or bios or whatever it is to beep when I exit the bios? Does that mean there is something wrong with it?

    What should I do now? (aside from cry for being an idiot for getting ATI and GeForce technologies in one computer?)
  16. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    A 650W PSU should be enough for my system right? It couldn't be beeping cause of need for more power?
  17. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just tried putting my ATI graphics card as primary and the GTX 8800 as secondary, and still the same problem
  18. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Does your PSU not have PCI-E power connections. I don' think it is liking having an adaptor used
    alialamin says thanks.
  19. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I dont really know what an adapter is...
    My PSU comes with 2 PCI connectors, I am using them on the 8800, so I don't think that's the problem.
    I have called ASUS, and asked them what they think I should do, but they basically said they had no idea, great help they are...
    I just set up an RMA with Newegg to get the graphics card replaced. If the new one does the same thing, then I'll know its just an incompatibility issue... but it must be a minor incompatibility issue since the graphics card runs perfectly fine! It just does the one error I describe above... (or at least so far?)
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Nailed it. The card isn't getting proper power from the plug. GeForce cards make that beep when they think the power plug is disconnected. I've done it countless times on mine.

    @Ali- Use the PCIe plug that is directly attached to the psu. Do not use the adapter that came with the card.
    alialamin says thanks.
  21. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I wasn't using the adator... the 8800 GTX requires two PCI E psu connectors, which my PSU has two so I was using them on the card.
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hmmm. Put the GTX in the system, and see if you can confirm the beep is coming from the card itself.
  23. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I guess if i get another one that is making the same problem, it might be my PSU... perhaps 650 Watts is not enough for the system I describe above... but I doubt it.
  24. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Let me do that hold on, I never actually listened to see what exactly is making the beep. BRB
  25. alialamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    P.S. I had assumed it was the motherboard.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page