1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Webroot Drive Eraser doesn't detect HDD size corrently

Discussion in 'Storage' started by hat, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    When using the Webroot Drive Eraser (the program that wipes out the drive with zeros... you can make one with window washer), it sometimes doesn't detect my hard drive size properly. In particular, I'm working on a 250gb drive that gets detected as 135gb... is this a serious problem? Will it not erase the rest of the un-detected space?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I've not used that, hat, but if the utility does not assess the size of the drive properly, I would think it would not be writing to all the available HDD address space.
     
    hat says thanks.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    What program do you use then, Sir Kreij?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I don't use a zero-erase utility. When I want to remove all of the data from a HDD, it usually means that there is something wrong with it and I set it on one of the grinders at work that has a high powered, magnetic hold down base and turn it on.

    Sorry. I know that's not much help. :D
     
  5. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    HD Tune has zero-fill option under erase (did not use personally) also you can use your HDD manufacturers low level format tool (result will be same hdd will be wiped) ,after than you can use recuva to check result .
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page