1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird core freq changing ...

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Muhad, Oct 16, 2008.

  1. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Cat 8.9 shows GPU Clock set at 750 and the GPU Clock Current is 500.

    the default core is always stable in the CCC at 500
    when using GPU-Z.0.2.8 the core is stable at 500

    But when using RT v2.11 the core freq is changing between 500 and 750, and this also causes GPU-Z.0.2.8 to change. When I exit RT then the changing in GPU-Z.0.2.8 stops.
    Weird? Any ideas?

    :confused:

    If I am in a 3D app then the core is stable at 750.
     
  2. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    That is a feature of AMD's Powerplay, that cuts on core and mem frequency to reduce power consuption while on 2D mode.
     
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,756 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Manchester, NH

    True - if you had a watt meter connected to your plug, you'd probably see a 75w+ spike in power draw as well. It's doing what it's supposed to.
     
  4. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Understood, but why only when using RT does it keep changing?
    Shouldn't it remain stable while in 2D mode?
     
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    That's what Aero does to my GPU (same problem different cause???) until I either turn off Aero or the driver resets (and on a number of occasions goes into a loop and BSODs). I still have no idea why it does this, I just have to live without Aero.
     
  6. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Well I was wrong about the CCC, it is changing there too. Seems weird for ATI to do this because the voltage would be changing all the time, right?
     
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yup very odd. I wish I could find the problem. Can't tell if it's AMDs powerplay, or something incompatible with Vista (Aero) in my case, or RT in your case. I've used 2 different BIOSes and both had the same issue. No idea what to do.
     
  8. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    950 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    With SpeedStep and PowerPlay type modes, even software checking if it is on can kick the CPU or GPU up to the higher frequency. This can cause the back and forth oscillation that you're seeing.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page