1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird CPU Temp.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jiwhan0427, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. jiwhan0427 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, guy. I built new system (my first one) and it's been almost month.

    CPUID says my Kuma is running w/ 10C-14C when it don't do any job. I'm using xigmatek

    cooler, the huge one.(don't remember the name)

    I was happy about this temp. and then I read one thread that it sometimes display wrong

    temp.

    My question is, Do u guys think this is not right? I'm not Ocing any hardware, and I left

    everything pretty much stock.

    p.s Thanks TPU. u guys gave me a courage to build system myself. it was a big chellange

    to me. I'm still learning alot here. :p
     
  2. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hmm...That depends...Can you feel it that cold when you open the case...and also try a simple thermometer on the cpu/heatsink that will give you an average recording...^^ i'm makin a new build too...THX TPU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
     
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Seems a little low. CPU-z doesnt always give the best reading as far as temps go.
     
  4. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Let me tell you this. The temperature on the CPU can`t be lower than the ambient temp. You can`t cool the CPU below the temp of the AIR that it is circulating. So if you have ambient temp around 10C than it is possible with great cooler to have 15C idle temp.
     
  5. kyle2020 Guest

    Try using Realtemp or Coretemp to check temperatures properly.

    Also, fill us out your system specs from within your CP, that will help us get a feel for your rig as a whole :)

    Welcome to TPU by the way!
     
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Realtemp or Coretemp :shadedshu , not support AMD cpu's
     
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    check it from bios , also try visit CPUID site and download HWmonitor it is cool ot try pc wizard or everst , i was use these when i wan have amd x2
     
  8. kyle2020 Guest

    What? Since when? Im sure ive used realtemp with my 5000+BE in the past :wtf:
     
  9. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    thats what 40...something. thats normal if not overlcocked i would think
     
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    realtemp doesn't support older AMD cpu's, but coretemp does. I have to use coretemp with my AMD rig and realtemp with me Intel rig
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    Only if the room the computer is is is only 35'f. Air cooling can not cool your CPU colder than the air it's using to cool with
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. jiwhan0427 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank u all. I just figured out that 10c temp was that temp right after turn on my pc. :p cpu is runnig fine.
     
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i should add word "new" AMD cpu's , and kuma is new cpu from AMD
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page