1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

weird Electricity bill

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by stanhemi, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Ok i open this thread to compare my folding rig electricity bill to other (el fiendo and other tpu members are welcome)

    first to make a long story short my previous electricity bill was around 200-250$ for 52-55 day.Today i got my new bill 560$ for 52 day.I use around 2500 kwh now the new bill say 7010 kwh.:twitch:

    Rig 1 E7200@4100mhz -----------------smp + gpu2 client '' 245 watt + 38 watt lcd''
    HD4850 675mhz core
    corsair tx750watt
    Asus p5q-e

    Rig 2 E1200 @ 3200mhz ----------------smp + gpu2 client
    9800gt 720/1890/900
    ocz modxstream 700watt
    gigabyte ep35 ds3l

    Rig 3 p4 3000mhz -----------------------only gpu2 client '' 230 watt + 30 watt lcd''
    8800gs 700/1782/800
    antec earthwatt 500 watt
    asus p5ld2vm

    I want to add my new quad 9550 and my 2 hd 4870 1g but i'm not sure if i can pay another bill like that cause if i do this i need to add another rig to my farm

    All my rig fold 24/7

    ''If i add my new cpu and gpu's
    Rig 1 Q9550 (oc)
    2 x hd4870
    corsair tx 750 watt

    Rig 2 E7200 @4100mhz
    Hd4850
    ocz 700 watt

    Rig 3 E1200 @ 3200
    9800gt 720/1890/900
    antec earthwatt 500watt

    rig 4 p4 3000mhz only gpu client
    8800gs 720/1782/800
    thermaltake tr2 430 watt
    asus p5gc mx 1333

    :toast: i get a wattmeter so i add the wattage of each rig later today
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2009
  2. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Ouch is all I can say. My rig draws about 280-290W @ full "Gaming Load" and 220-230W while F@H. My elec bill only went up... (without my wind turbine) $3/mnth.
     
  3. AKlass New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    whos your provider?
     
  4. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    My electricity provider is HYDRO QUEBEC
     
  5. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    ask then to show you a graph showing the usage per day...
     
    stanhemi says thanks.
  6. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    From 40 kwh /day during winter time to 138 kwh/day in summer ????
     
  7. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    the meter has gone palooka!
     
  8. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    It sounds like the meter to me aswell, go check it out and phone them up
     
  9. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    bad new for me my electricity provider told me everything is normal on their side,but a tech coming tomorrow to check my meter.:mad:

    Here the price here in Quebec for the electricity


    The first 1920 kwh = 0,054$
    everything else = 0,0733$
    +
    0.04064$ x kwh for you account
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2009
  10. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,539 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,376
    damn! yea ask your provider to come by and check your meter. when i was folding 24/7 my monthly bill only went up 10%. i was drawing between 350-450 watts.
     
    stanhemi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I forgot to check, does HQ do actual and estimate months? For instance, Epcor always would do an estimate month followed by an 'actual' month where they came and read the meter. The estimate month was based on prior year usage at that time, and how much you were using in the months previous in the current year. If they underestimated that could explain the jump on this month, but shouldn't be double.

    Also, walk around your house looking for extension cords leading away from your residence.
     
  12. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    i live in the same appartment for the last 3 years and i never use more than 3500kwh.

    in spring /summer i check my previous bill,last 3 years 2000-2700 kwh

    winter/fall last 3 years 2400-3600 kwh
     
  13. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    my previous electricity bill was around 200-250$ for 52-55 day.Today i got my new bill 560$ for 52 day.I use around 2500 kwh now the new bill say 7010 kwh.


    :laugh: if you wanna fold you have do pay the prize
     
  14. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    I know whats wrong, its the 4850 :p :p :p
     
  15. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The point is previous bills were less than half of what his current bill is, and he was folding then as well as now. This is an odd jump that I don't think has anything to do with folding.

    Can you give us prior month numbers for $/KWh? The .54 will be the ending of the prior month, but what about before that?

    At any rate, somethings changed to give you an extra 3500 kwh, it almost looks like someone doubled the reading.
     
  16. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    even if my rig pump 800watt /hour =19000 watt for 24 hour X 52 day = 1 000 000 watt =1000 kwh x0,052$ = 52$

    edit: i fold since november 2008 24/7

    yep i look my meter and wire around everything seem ok.

    funny thing all my electric heater(brand new) are eco friendly and my water heater too
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2009
  17. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    It could be as simple as the meter was read incorrectly, I have had that happen before. I am currently folding 2 rigs w/ electric H2o heater, electric cook stove and a heat pump, my bill is big if it tops 100$.
     
  18. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,630 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,998
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    That seems a little high. I have 5 rigs folding 24/7 and I spent $209.39usd on my folding rigs last month(total bill $359.81usd). Total F@H usage is 1740kw @ .12034/kw for March. All my PSU's are 80+ certified.

    RIG 1
    E8400
    2X GTX 260
    ANTEC EA 650(400-500 WATTS)

    RIG 2
    X2 4850e
    4X 8800GS
    ANTEC EA500D(420 WATTS)

    RIG 3
    X2 BE2400
    4X 9600GSO
    ANTEC EA500D(420 WATTS)

    RIG 4
    X2 BE2400
    4X 8800GS
    ANTEC EA500D(420 WATTS)

    RIG 5
    X2 7750
    2X 8800GTS 512
    2X 9800GTX+
    CORSAIR 750TX(500-600 WATTS)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    yep your right BUCK really strange.Tomorrow the HQ tech coming to check my meter.

    all my psu's are 80+ certified too

    can't be my 3 little rig lol thanks Buck

    the problem is somewhere else in the apartment or maybe the meter i'll see tomorrow with the guy from HQ.
     
  20. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,539 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,376
    on another note, because the price of electricity is increasing globally it may be better to actually write the F@H people a check to pay new equipment.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. deathmore

    deathmore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    344 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Langenburg Saskatchewan Canada
    maybe you should check for random extension cords leading from your outlets out from your place...
     
  22. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    no extension cord or suspect wire connect to my house/meter

    last bill

    -1740 kwh for 52 days 131$ Estimate
    -2460 kwh for 70 days 189$ real
    -1760 kwh for 56 days 135$ real
    -2190 kwh for 57 days 170$ real
    -4300 kwh for 68 days 342$ real oct 08 to dec 08 ''start folding''
    -4400 kwh for 70 days 362$ real dec 08 to fev 09
    -7010 kwh for 54 days 560$:eek: real fev 09 to apr 09
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  23. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    your meter is counting 1kwh as 2kwh...
     
  24. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Ouch man, I suggest leaving some windows open for while;). Either way, try using a UPS as they are far more efficient than power bars under load. When some power bars are under seriouis load, in order to keep stability in check they add more wattage to the ports in order to keep a consistant flow of wattage. In other words, try to find newer power bars or un plug unused devices that consume a lot. Also, another good way is to reconfigure the client to use up the CPU at under 50% max and turn off your monitor too, those are also good ideas.
     
  25. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Either that or he has the makings of machine intelligence in his house which learned to freebase electricity... but that's not too likely a scenario. How's the weather up there? When I was in Ontario last week it was gorgeous.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page