1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird gpu problem

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by 1nf3rn0x, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Hey guys, I was at my uncles house today as we had a lunch over his house for Christmas. He was showing my his new computer, which he got totally free from a mate at work. Though when he turned it on, nothing displayed on the screen. Though he said last night he was downloading his programs and updates and the computer ran fine. I opened it up, its pretty nice. It's an Athlon x2 2.7ghz. 4gb ddr2 ram at 800mhz and a 9800GTX. I think i've found the culprit. The power supply is only 450w. It's an Asus Vento psu that came with the case, an Asus Vento M9. The 9800GTX requires 2x6 pin as you know. Honestly thats alot for a 450w psu. But we rang the guy who gave it to him and he said he ran it through 3dmark vantage and 06. Put it through furmark and no worries. Honestly the pc would only use 300-350w max, but could the amps on the psu cause this? We tried different monitors and nothing new. VGA then DVI then HDMI dongle, nothing. If you want I took some photos while I was there, i can upload them, just tell me. But guys can you help me find the problem? Thanks :D

    EDIT: FIX

    Hey guys it just seems the card was not installed 100% and came loose. It's all working. I'm extremely surprised to see that card run on that psu but I just ran it through 3dmark 06. It scored 11000. Not too bad for a system of that age. It's all working. :D. But damn that card is HUGE, look at this photo of it. [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2010
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,803 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    does it beep that unusual?
    Try to clean the contact area of vga with eraser and clean the slot then try again
    or try to plug out the cable that connect to board then re-plug in again
    have you tried on other monitor? Does it run, if it doesnt i guess there err on the vga
    does the vga chip goes warm? If it is warm it means thats ok
    if it has onboard vga try to boot using onboard vga then set the graphic into pciex then re-plug in again
    what about the bios battery, does it has enough power?
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
  3. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    The photos can really help
     
  4. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    It's been fixed :D
     
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,803 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    great, you find by yourself
    yeah sometimes we miss something, and sometimes the chaotic things began from small thing
    i hope that rig is ok
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  6. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Yes it's fine. The gpu just wasn't in 100%, it must of came undone as he turned on the power or something. The rig is fine, pretty clean. Cable management is nice. He's pretty happy and best of all he got it for free. It should max anything he wants to play on his 19inch monitor no worries.
     
  7. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    hm not sure how much they take tbh, but i needed a 520 watt for my radeon 9700 and that was only with a xp 3000 :eek: but it did run off the 5 volt line (not sure about the 9800:eek:)

    the psu might have killed it, only way your going to be able to tell is to put a different psu in and try it if that fails take the card out and try it in an old machine

    this page says that a brand-name 350 W power-supply will be enough to feed a system based on this card :confused:

    can't see it myself as i've an old pc with just a geforce 4 mx 400 card in and it was making the light on the front panel go dim whilst installing windows :twitch: so :wtf: (ofcause that could mean it's on it's way out :eek:

    check to see how many amps the 12 volt line has on the psu

    :edit:

    :laugh::roll::laugh: i took that long answering,, you'd already found what was wrong :laugh::D

    :ohwell: i was busy doing emu news at the time, thats my story and i'm sticking with it :p
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  8. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    LAWL, it's ok. You showed a valiant effort, you deserve a thanks :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page