1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird keyboard input issue

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by johnspack, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Okay, this has to be mobo related. Certain keys now send the wrong keystroke when in a game, although not when in text mode like posting here, or in notepad ect. When in game, if for example I hit ], it will send and show [. When I hit [, it sends AT. Some of the other symbol keys are messed up too. I need these keys for my flight sims, so this issue isn't an option! Tried different keyboards, although ps2, but that shouldn't matter, tried different mice just for a hoot. Upgraded bios, set everything to default, still doing it. Both of my windows installs do it, and one install is very clean. Other than this weird issue, the system is running perfect. Very confused! Tried the same stuff on my P6T system, and keyboards work fine on it. So my only choice now is a mobo swap. Has anyone ever heard of anything this strange, or have any idea why?
     
  2. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,397 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Do you use the Multilingual Canadian keyboard layout or the US keyboard? Check the keyboard settings in Windows and see whether it uses a corresponding keymap. My Windows installs (from '98 via XP to Win7) have always had issues once in a while with this, selecting the archaic Dutch keymap instead of US International (US with dead keys enabled).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Nah, I just use US english. I copied my flight sims over to my P6T box, and using the same keyboard it doesn't do it. It's just weird.... Going to try some other things, and if they don't work I'll just have to swap mobos. If all I change is the mobo, and it's fixed, then I know it's a weird ghost in the machine thing that can't be resolved. Gotta love computers, eh?
     
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Okay, techie lesson time! I suspected a usb device, as it was an input problem. Even though the keyboard is ps2. So I unplugged all usb devices except mouse, tried again and now the keyboard is sending correct keystrokes. Started adding back my usb devices until I got to my ir receiver for my media centre remote control, and it started up again. Problem solved.. no more remote control, but keyboard works again. Must always be patient and troubleshoot computer problems, even if they are really weird!
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Further note, if anyone is running the Rampage II Gene, make sure to get the 1701 bios. I was able to drop my vcore and qpi voltage quite a bit for the same stability. Silver lining in every cloud I guess....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page