1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird power-up error...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CloserDivision, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. CloserDivision New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey all, a friend of mine got good advice from this forum before, so i figured I'd give it a shot. I just build a computer today, and when I powered it up for the first time, it power up fine, but nothing happened on screen. I figured it was the video card or processor, so I reseated them. When I went to turn it on the next time, the computer turned on for half a second, then turned off. It continues to try to turn on and off without pressing the button again. Anyone have any idea what is wrong?
    Mobo: Biostar TPower I55
    PSU: Corsair 750
    Processor: i7 1156
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,789 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    South Carolina
    What error code does it give you on the mobo lcd?
  3. CloserDivision New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If it powered up long enough for me to see one, I'd tell you...
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2010
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,789 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Make sure your CPU fan is fully seated and plugged into the cpu fan socket on the mobo.

    Check you ram and make sure everyting is in fully.

    Also try taking your bios battery out for a couple minutes and then put it back and try agian.
  5. CloserDivision New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just did all that. Still nothing.
  6. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    are the risors installed inbetween mobo and back plate of case?
  7. CloserDivision New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yep.
  8. CloserDivision New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    When I plug in the PSU before i try turning it on, a red LED is on on the mobo. So, it IS getting power...
  9. SNiiPE_DoGG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    582 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Try a single stick of ram, or some lower end ram if you have some - although I doubt this is the problem. Obviously you need to isolate each component in the system in order to find the problem. I suggest also trying an alternate PSU even if it is a low powered one.

    Start the troubleshooting process make sure that absolutely nothing is plugged into the system except the processor, one stick of ram and the PSU. See if it stays on when powered (it should), then systematically add things. First the second stick of RAM, then the video card upon success of the RAM and lastly any addons such as dvd drives, hard drives or other expansion cards.

    There is an obvious possibility that you have a bad board, if you don't make it past the first step then try the other PSU and other RAM - if all else fails contact your retailer for an RMA.

    (I am not familiar with this board specifically, but if it has a CMOS jumper check that as well - better yet go through the manual thoroughly and check all the simple things, even ones that you think are super obvious to you)
    CloserDivision says thanks.
  10. CloserDivision New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You think they might have been killed by static or something? =\
  11. CloserDivision New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just took out everything but the PSU, processor, and mobo. still no go. Thanks for the assistance. RMAing the processor and mobo.
  12. SNiiPE_DoGG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    582 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Static is an extremely rare cause of death - for instance the only anti static precaution I take when building a system is wearing shoes and not walking of carpet and I have never killed a board that wasnt DOA (I test all my boards on the motherboard box the instant I take them out of the packaging)

    And needless to say I have built a crap ton of computers. :D
    CloserDivision says thanks.
  13. CloserDivision New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Chances are I did something really stupid. I think the reason that the video card didn't work the first time was that I didn't plug it in to the PSU (i didnt see the power cable that came with it). This is my first build and I figured I'd make some scrub mistakes.
    SNiiPE_DoGG says thanks.
  14. SNiiPE_DoGG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    582 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Good luck man, I hope that the RMA works out for you and you don't give up on a great hobby and a great way to save money on a good computer!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page