1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

weird problem with asus mobo

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by spikespiegel, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. spikespiegel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, first post here; I'm having a weiird weird issue with my system:

    Asus a8n sli mobo
    amd opteron 170 cpu
    2gb dual channel ram (2x1gb ocz)
    ati 1900xt video card
    thermaltake toughpower 750wat psu
    2 hd's in raid 0 (400gb total)
    2 hd's in raid 0 (1.35tb total)

    Well, the computer started having issues at first with the ethernet card, it woudl sometimes not work, and after that, windows stopped recognizing it totally. Somtimes it would come back and ask for drivers, other time windows wouldn't recognize it. Until one day, i tried powering up the PC, and everything powered up fine, just my monitor kept blinking and couldn't show me anything at all.

    I thoguht it was a mobo issue so I rma'd it with asus (3 year warranty) and they sent me a new one. Lo and behold, everythings popped in and the same problem happens except this time i get a beep sequence 7 beeps and the 2nd / 3rd beeps are faster beeps. I have NO clue whats going on; as b4 , there snothing poppng up on the monitor, it just keeps blinking on standby yet everything is powered up, mobo, vid card fan, etc. Any help appreciated greatly!!
     
  2. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    any recent software updates?

    anyway, nothing you can do about it now!

    try booting with just the essentials...

    psu, 1x mem stick, only boot hdd, gfx, and no dvd, no extra cards !

    and take it from there....
     
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,327 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    877
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Instead of Standby try Hibernate. If its the same something is wrong with the ram, might be incompatible ram. Usually its a bios issue, so see if the board has the latest bios.

    And oh, go into bios and load default settings and see if the pc behaves the same.
     
  4. spikespiegel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    iwould love to go into the bios; the only problem is, i dont see anything on the screen, my screen just keeps blinking after i get a weird series of 7 beeps...:shadedshu
     
  5. Ongaku New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    799 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Oshkosh B'gosh
    That doesn't sound too good there...run memtest and test out your RAM
     
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,327 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    877
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    oops, i am suspecting a dead proc there. Sorry man.
     
  7. spikespiegel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    No, that's a am2 processor, the board is 939.
     
  9. spikespiegel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thats what i thought, thanks! Time to upgrade the system :rockout:
     
  10. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    good luck with the upgrade!

    have you decided what you are going for?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page