1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird temp reading.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by DirtyGnome, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. DirtyGnome New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I finally got my parts and put my new computer together. The love fest ended when I ran PC wizard I noticed my "Processor" temp was 90C. So I panicked, rebooted, and checked the BIOS to see what was up, as the heat sink my PheII 940 came with seemed pretty decent. Sure enough, it was reading 28C. So I started up vista and checked PC wizard again. Of course I stopped reading at "processor" temperature and missed the core by core break down at the bottom :eek:.

    [​IMG]

    So I do what any good techie would do, and broke out my infrared thermometer :cool:. All the copper bits on my mobo seem to be between 24.2C and 29.4C(the computer was on/idling in vista), so unless they used Aerogel as a thermal compound, I'm thinking that the reading is an error. The northbridge/OB graphics heat sink was sitting at 28.4C, the CPU heat sink at 24.2C, and the south bridge at 29.4C. Maybe an infrared thermometer isn't the most accurate tool to use, but I find it hard to believe that the 'sink temps would deviate more than 5C from my readings.

    Is this just a malfunction of some sort that I need not worry about? Could the temperature difference between the heat sinks and the component beneath really differ 60C? Am I missing something important that could be giving me this reading, or am I just crazy for worrying enough to make this post :D.

    Other important info:
    I have a BIOSTAR TA790GXB A2+
    I haven't received my 600W PSU yet so I don't an aftermarket video card installed.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,931 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,229
    never heard of PC wizard. Try coretemp.
     
  3. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    PC Wizard is nice, for system infos. However temperature wise, I would trust dedicated programs more.
     
  4. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    hey there is a new pc wizard about 4 days old , www.cpuid.com and also be sure to get the new cpuz 1.52 and the hwmonitor ,, all the software is made at these guys ,, so grab it , it's free ,, i dont trust pc wizard with temps rather go for hW monitor ,, but dont trust the TMPIN2 reading it hits fire temps 280 'C + ,, pc wizard told me my phenom 9850 @ 2.9 Ghz was 290'C so i looked in the case ,, didnt see smoke ,, didnt see fire ,, so i ignored it ,, but amd CPU must stay below 63'C remember that !
     
  5. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    Try CoreTemp or RealTemp... or cpuz
     
  6. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    I have the same problem, well it's not exactly a problem just a mis-reading, and i use Everest. The diffrence between yours and mine though is diffrent, it shows my processor temp as 25, even under full load, i've never had any problems though to be honest. I might download and install pc wizzard to see how it reacts with my temps.

    Realy don't think you should have anything to worry about, if you can touch the surface of the HSF then it really isn't as hot as it's reading isit :)
     
  7. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    I fixed my sister`s computer today and i used this PC WIZARD software to check some things . Anyway she has an Athlon64 3000+ and a Gigayte K8NE , and in this case the Temp monitoring worked fine .
    32C CPU , 26C MOBO .
    I think it's buggy with the new CPU's . Did you update the software ? That might help ...
     
  8. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    nooo,, cpuz doesnt have temps ,, but is good for reading speeds and bandwith ,, but thanx for the diffrent montioring software indications!
     
  9. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    Yeah i'd agree, it's not so "perfect" on newer hardware. :)

    EDIT:

    Everest FTW!! :D
     
  10. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    heh , surfing around i came across a software ( kinda old ) called Mainboard Monitor 5 .
    According to this software this Athlon64 idles at -22C and -15 in full load using OCCT . Now that`s weird , i remember using the stock HSF not LN2 :))

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2009
  11. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    sorry about that... I was thinking about Gpuz :p

    also Everest is good for monitoring a few things + you can add your choice of readings on the sidebar...
     
  12. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    Thanx for the headup on that ,, haha besides were here to learn and help oneanother arnt we ,, ,, but i'll check everest , neva seen it b4
     
  13. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    Shocking... :twitch:

    It's a great piece of software :rockout:

    EDIT: Here is a link to the free version :)
     
    Tweak-2- says thanks.
  14. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
  15. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    Sorry man, It's just something i've used for years now and it's kind of a part of my life :roll:

    I take the software for granted haha.

    Anyways im sure im not the first to say it but welcome to TechPowerUp (TPU) :)
     
  16. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    thank you mc-dexter ,, i'm enjoying it here already ,, i was at www.mocosapce.com but found no intelect there ,, i was fourm posting for 2 years ,, no stars no nothing ,, just making friends ,, loosing friends ,, helping ppl,, and fighting about whats wright and what not
     
  17. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    btw, WELCOME to TPU ! :toast:
     
  18. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    wow , this is the most friendly fourm iv incounterd ,, and atleast there are interlectuals here !! haha.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page