1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird + terrible results

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by BIOHazard87, Jan 5, 2006.

  1. BIOHazard87

    BIOHazard87 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    162 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    California, USA
    Well i flashed my x850 pro to a modded x850 pro bios with 16 pipes, to an XT bios in the bios collection that fits my card just fine (correct memory, has vivo) all that, and i tried that because i wanted to try ATI Overdrive, i did the auto detect thing, it detected 540/621 which is abosolutly crazy, so i was like "wtffff..........." so i went into ATITool (beta 11) and tried 540/590 which are XT PE speeds, and it ran it for 2 minutes stable, i didnt run longer, then i tried playing games, i kept benching CSS Stress test, i noticed it was very jumpu, but no artifacts, i tried stock, which is 520/540 for an XT, and it got 110 FPS then i kept experimenting like 533/567, 533/560, 540/567, everything, andit HATED the high memory, even if it was ATITool + CSS Stress test stable, it just hated it, so i went back to the pro bios, seemed a bit less jumpy and tried 540/590, it could do it "stable" but again had bad scores, originally i could bearly do 540/567 stable, so i finally decided to use 533/567, meh


    so basiclly it was getting way better scores at stock (520/540 on the xt bios) then 540/590
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Wierd dude. But hey, at least you did flash it with no trouble. I've had 2 cards, one infamous Sapphire 9800 Pro that no one on earth has flashed successfully (it was my first flash too so it discouraged me a little bit), and a 6800 GT that NVFlash knows better than me if it can be flashed or not (ERROR: BIOS's not the same.......WHY WOULD THEY BE?!?!?!), so I gave up the whole flashing thing. But congrats and sorry dude.

    You got 16 pipes though anyway, awesome.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. BIOHazard87

    BIOHazard87 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    162 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    California, USA
    why would you flash a 6800GT?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    So I can say "I have an Ultra" and have proof, and games recognize it as more power. But also, if I say I don't want to flash it, everyone says "the Ultra has so many advantages and uses resources better, you should do it" but when I want to flash it, everyone says what you say, "Why? They're pretty much the exact same thing, just have different clock speed". I don't know who to believe frankly

    Is that your max overclock on your GT? If so, WOW, the A400 heatsink from leadtek makes a helluva difference, even more than I thought (check my dropdown specs)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. BIOHazard87

    BIOHazard87 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    162 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    California, USA
    i have a leadtek 6800GT also, it idles at like 52, its terrible, also they dont have exactly the same parts, the Ultra has looser memory timings and 2 molex plugs, mabey something else is different too
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    So why is your GT clocked so low? Mine runs hot too, but look at what I get (448/1180). And that's stock. All 6800's run hot I hear, but that doesn't stop my clocks. I mean something as easy as applying Arctic Silver 5 or blowing cold air into the case could get it to Ultra Extreme Edition speeds.

    What do you mean 2 molex plugs? And also, that should mean my GT at Ultra speed outperforms an Ultra at stock because it's got better timings right?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,412 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I have found high overclocks on my 6800 to be "jumpy", although stable. I think it is caused by the video cards power circuit not being able to supply enough constant power to run at those speeds.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Okay, that does make sense. At 448/1180 it's very true for me too, I can keep it stable on it but on games like Doom 3 and stuff, it does get strange. Like non-artifacts artifacts (makes screen look wierd but it's not wierd colors, I can't really explain it), and every once in a while it'll freeze.

    Thanks for that thought though wazzle, that sounds like the problem. I've been wondering for a while, proper cooling, no artifacts, stable, etc. and I didn't think of anything else.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)