1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird things happening...

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Pigas, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,035 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423

    If you check the model number m17x, you will see that its actually a laptop and not a pc. The parts used are laptop parts and not desktop parts per se~ so there are no 'checking cables' and 'VGA connectors' unless the OP hooks it up to a monitor and has the laptop function as a desktop PC instead of a laptop.
    To open up a laptop and dismantle the cooling unit to be able to apply new thermal grease or reseat the GPU can be a rather daunting task to somebody who is less experienced with tech especially when it comes to laptops, while it maybe a fairly simple and easy takes in most cases, the components are more tightly packed and there is less room to work with so knowing what you're doing helps a lot when dealing with laptops, its not as simple as just slotting expansion cards into PCI or PCI-E slots - there is a lot of dismantling that needs to be done and how much depends on the laptop itself. you might need to take the bottom of the laptop off completely to get to the components inside, Opening it up can also void warranty - Most OEMs dont care if you add more RAM or a new Hard drive but opening it up completely can void warranty.

    ----


    Pigas - your best bet is to RMA the laptop if its still in warranty. the graphics card might have come loose and needs to be reseated. while its a simple task to reseat the graphic card to most of us here at TPU, you might not be so experienced in dealing with it on your own. better safe than sorry and have Alienware deal with it then you attempt it yourself and cause further damage to your laptop which isnt cheap to begin with.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2014
    RCoon says thanks.
  2. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    529 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    +1 to freedom. This is all true.

    My original feeling was the gpu is coming loose.
     
  3. jcgeny

    jcgeny

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    155 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    i absolutely do not know the alienware products , as he did not write anything in his "system specs" , i told to myself he was having some common desktop pc .
    opening this latops can be hard because some pieces are "plug" like a Chinese puzzle .
    but i have some experience with that kind of boards .
    i recently updated cpu , vga , ram and hd of my 4 years old hp touchsmart 600

    [​IMG]

    i rearranged cables that were below the fans and installed a ssd : so airflow is better and temp lower .
    i also installed it in the AIR with a arm , so fresh air is passing with a better flow than at the time the pc was on a table....it killed its two drives : dvdrom and hd 1.5 Go

    here it is :

    [​IMG]

    as it is a laptop , i would open it only in case warranty is over , by now i would use gpuz in case monitor and windows start .
    these laptop , like my hp , are made to die after 1 year and a half.... cleaning the dust inside is nearly impossible without breaking warranty ...
    it is good to take the 3 years extention for 10 % more
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,035 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    [​IMG]

    While adding system specs to your account would help in the long run as it helps us diagnose problems faster its not a necessary forum requirement, a necessary requirement would be to read the OP/Thread before answering. As mentioned the 'PC' in question is a Alienware m17x - the OP did not edit his post and edit it in, it was there from the start for all to see.

    Also - Just because you know what you're doing when it comes to working on laptops doesnt mean the OP does. While the Touchsmart 600 maybe a AIO PC it is NOT a Laptop though very similar to one depending on the model/make.

    I didnt know it was fine to give wrong answers so long as the OP hadnt filled in his system specs.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  5. Pigas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its allrighy guys no hustle, i just woke up, i try alien restore in a couple pf hourd and let you know how it went. thanks for a the replies and help. much appreciated.
     
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,969 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,087
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    You sir are a ghetto mod redneck :laugh:
     
  7. jcgeny

    jcgeny

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    155 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
  8. Pigas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks! Rolling back the restore atm. If nothing works ill try that!
     
  9. Pigas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea..still in the same position..i was wondering is there any chance the graphics card is about to fry? and it is just hanging in there? *note* when it works i can game for 12 hours+ without any problem
     
  10. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,434
    It's a new(ish) machine, I would go for an RMA at this point.

    EDIT: After a fresh Windows install, if you didn't do that already.
     
  11. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,750 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    Mexico
    W8 won't likely help. In my case it did the trick because it has built in USB 3.0 support but I doubt it'll have built in support for your card.



    Follow this guide: http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/wi...own-issues-that-cause-slower-boot-times/3253/

    and see if the GPU or its driver have any problem initializing. The GPU drivers should begin with "ati" or "AMD" on their name.




    And yeah, if the laptop still has warranty you should contact Alienware support too. Maybe someone else has gone through your very same issue before and they might have a solution.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Pigas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Done, my GPU is not listen in any of the errors.
     
  13. Pigas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Performing alien respawn atm.
     
  14. Pill Monster

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    78 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Oceania
    Honestly mate listen to the others, if it's a lappy and still under warranty the best thing you can do is RMA it. You'll save urself a lot of frustration.
     
  15. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    +1
     
  16. Pigas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The only reason i am not giving it to dell atm is that i am out of country.
     
  17. jcgeny

    jcgeny

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    155 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    his pc was sold win win7 so it should be out of warranty .
    you should open it and clean the dust [when pc will be cold] , may be your cpu or vga had burnt a cable because of the temp .
    if it is the case , you should get one on ebay .
    same goes with vga ......

    i just read the : ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-prod...ops/alienware-m17x_Reference Guide2_en-us.pdf
    and you should have a nvidia vga inside , not an ati ....

    open the case and check what is your vga
     
  18. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    198 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Sounds like a hardware failure. Strongly recommend RMA since opening the case to diagnose further will probably void your warranty. Since you sound unfamiliar and uncomfortable with diving into the guts of your laptop you should probably leave it to the professionals.
     
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,916 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    its getting cold. and the solder joints are failing.

    if it has a radeon 6 series, it has to be quite old. and remember laptops are NEVER for gaming. NEVER.
     
  20. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    903 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Nonsense comment there. I've had plenty of gaming laptops that could smoke most mid-range desktops. Are they more expensive? Yes. Do they run warmer then a desktop? Yes. Can they be used for gaming? MOST CERTAINLY.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  21. Pigas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am absolutely in love with this machine. A simple hardware failure does not mean laptops are not fit for gaming. Anyhow.. I turned it on today, it was working. Restarted it, same thing. Seems like after a whole night of being turned off, the GPU is able to run. So its either a nearly dead GPU or a cable running l
     
  22. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Chances are, the OP has a M17x R3, as they, had the AMD(ATI) 6870 / 6970 / 6990 or NVidia GTX 460M/GTX 560/GTX 580 options with Windows 7.
    Dell, still, offers windows 7 on their Alienware line.
    You can get AMD or Nvidia cards on the different incarnations.

    And, just for info... I believe they are at or around the R4, or so, revision.

    Here is a list of alienware laptops and desktops with links to drivers and such.
    @OP : I believe your's is number nine in the list.

    If you updated the BIOS... did you use your TAG number to be sure you got the correct one for your model?
    Also, you can enter your tag number at the dell support site and it should be able to show your as shipped configuration... whether NVidia or AMD.

    I believe, this may be your model's support page with the latest bios being A12 -- > Alienware M17X R3

    If, I were you... I would call Dell (Alienware) support and explain to them that there are a lot of unanswered "no graphics cards showing in BIOS" in the Dell forum threads which are really unanswered and that your is doing the same and see if they will, maybe, help or send a replacement card... you might get lucky.

    Just be nice to 'em.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page