1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

well im back, just bought a 5850, questions

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by tastegw, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    so i needed a new motherboard for my rig, and decided to upgrade my video card also.

    looking through the 5850's and decided to go with the vanilla ASUS model.

    few questions:

    will i be able to use the smart doctor with this model without a bios flash?

    should this run this game and fraps (to record) with little to no lag or slow down, my current 4770 plays the game just fine, but when i turn on fraps, i get like 15-20 FPS and in a fast paced multiplayer shooter, that hurts your aim.

    the main thing that may have been slowing my down was the 512mb or ram on the 4770, i am running 1920x1200 resolution.

    and last question, this does outperform the gtx 285's correct?

    thanks in advance.

    system specs incase they dont show elsewhere:

    intel i7 920
    evga x58 mobo (replacing biostar x58A tpower)
    6GB OCZ XMP DDR3 1600 ram
    everything else, no need to list.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    1. dunno

    2. FRAPS is crapping your system out because your CPU cant keep up, not your video card. thats just the way fraps is - try recording at a lower res.

    3. possible. with no AA and a setting or two not on max, many modern games would work on 512MB. many is not all, however.

    4. yes.
     
    tastegw says thanks.
  3. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    thanks mussels,

    so even if i OC my 920, fraps will still kick my arse?

    that game has low requirements, but its known to run really bad on low end systems that try to crank up the gfx to high settings.

    I really dont want to record at low rez, bummer.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    fraps will kick every systems ass ever, including skynet.


    I'm not up to date on it, but last time i used it, it was only single threaded - so it really did slow to a crawl when recording
     
  5. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    am i able to set one core or thread from my i7 to run fraps, and use my other cores to run the game? not sure if the game is multi threaded or not, my guess would be no.

    and besides xfire, what other recording tools would you recommend, that are either free, or pretty cheap.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    its possible for you to set fraps to a later core, yes. might help.

    Fraps = laggy

    xfire = big cause for crashes in games


    so actually, i use neither. but i dont record my games, so thats a moot point.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page