1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB SATA2

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fullinfusion, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
  2. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Yes it's better.
    Yes it's a good hd.

    Caviar Blacks & Samsung Spinpoints both use 32 megs of cache your Blue uses 8.

    If you don't want to go SSD yet, Blacks, Spinpoints are where it's at for platter based mechanical drives.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    its the same as your 320GB, only double the storage space.

    lemode: where did you pull blue from? last i checked the AAKS were WD blacks
     
  4. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Google the model #.
     
  5. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK


    AALS is Blacks, AAKS is Blues, AADS is Green
     
    Kei, Soylent Joe, Boyfriend and 2 others say thanks.
  6. kylzer

    kylzer New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    511 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    I have this drive

    it has served me well so far

    very happy :)
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    weird. i had some AAKS drives prior to the color coding system, assumed they were black - they had 32MB of cache as well.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  8. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    The AAKS's or WD Blues use 16mb's of cache. The AAJS's use 8 and the AALS's are blacks that use 32. But you probably won't see much of a difference between them. I would get another 320GB AAKS for RAID 0.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  9. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    the 640gb blue utilizes 16megs of chache, his 320gb only uses 8...I think it even says it on WD's site...
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
    this is an older 320 sata II drive... I also googled the numbers and its showing Blue... but the black has 3 platters vs my current 2 platter... should I get it to replace my 320?
    Im also looking for a bit better performance
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    performance from one HDD to another tends to not be noticeable.

    The only way you'll notice a difference, is if you split your load between different drives - EG, windows on one, games on the other. That way, OS activity cant slow game load times, and vice versa.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    My WD5000AAKS has 16mb cache.
     
    smashed_99cbr says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    they are a fine drive.... but not that much faster than what you got now...

    your current drive is around 65mb/s read

    the black drive is around 75mb/s read

    a seagate barracuda LP (1tb or 1.5tb) 5900rpm is around 85mb/s read

    a seagate 7200.11 (1tb or 1.5tb) is around 100-110mb/s

    a seagate 7200.12 (1tb or 1.5tb) is around 110-125mb/s

    so although the black drives are faster than your current drive they are not really all that fast
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  14. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    so do the 2 I have



    agreed... put windows/and small stuffs on your old drive and everything else on the new drive
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  15. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
    I have an older ide barracuda drive that has all my games on it, I was thinking of yanking it out and replacing it with the 320 and use the black as the primary drive.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    smashed.. you have a WD5000AAKS? if so is it forsale?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
    One more thing and thanks for all the input guys :respect:

    What program do I use to image the drive with my os to the new drive?
    I dont really want to do a fresh os install.
     
  18. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54

    I have 2 or them... but they are currently in use.... I might sell them... they are only $45 or $50 on newegg,com
     
  19. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    you get one with the disks i assume. Anyways, there's always norton ghost.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
    I'm not sure, I'm getting it new from some guy locally that put it up in the local F/S site.

    I did a bit of looking around and found Acronis Migrate easy.... they say its real fast.

    Norton :shadedshu
     
  21. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Haha, yeah I hate norton too! Thats why I said, there's always norton :laugh:
     
  22. kylzer

    kylzer New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    511 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    What? noway the barracudas are that much faster are they ? lol
     
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
    well here is my 160 Barracuda :eek:

    [​IMG]

    I think its sllllooow

    here is the 320 WD

    [​IMG]
    slower yet....
     
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
    I just ran HD tune and the numbers are alot better with the WD Black

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    Seagate 1.5TB
    [​IMG]

    Samsung 1TB (90% full of data)
    [​IMG]


    Just for comparison on how little speed changes from antique 320GB drives to modern 1.5TB drives.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page