1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

western digital my passport essential + vista = no drivers???

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by frankie827, May 22, 2008.

  1. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    ok so i just got a my passport essential as a gift from my aunt lol
    i plugged it in to my desktop and BAM "no drivers were found" etc....
    there are no driver downloads on the western digital site so i have no idea what to do


    btw it works on my laptop with xp

    i really need help lol
     
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Try deleting C:\Windows\inf\infcache.1
     
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I own a WD My Book and all the drivers were included on the drive itself. Did you see if they are there?
     
  4. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    it wont even recognize the drive

    but ill try transferring the drivers from my laptop with xp to my desktop with vista using my ipod
     
  5. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    actually big problem lol
    i accidentally formatted the drive with my laptop because i though that might work

    are things on the hard drive on the western digital site?
     
  6. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
  7. Alex24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have WD320 GB My passport. It didnt work with VISTA 64 (USB sockets - front and hubs on my new Desktop) till I plugged to the back USBs (those coming from MB) - whuala . -disk was recognized in seconds // Hope this will help somebody .

    P.S. WD and MS support were useless. Spent 3 days on corresponcense ..
     
  8. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    i installed sp1 and it was fine lol

    and that was back when sp1 came out
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page