1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Western digital....WHY did I buy it.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Lazzer408, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,522 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ever since I switched back to WD I've been getting errors again. I stopped using them for this reason about 3 years ago. I found a great deal on some 250gb sata drives (new retail) and what do you know. errors errors errors.

    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.

    {Delayed Write Failed} Windows was unable to save all the data for the file . The data has been lost. This error may be caused by a failure of your computer hardware or network connection. Please try to save this file elsewhere.

    {Delayed Write Failed} Windows was unable to save all the data for the file . The data has been lost. This error may be caused by a failure of your computer hardware or network connection. Please try to save this file elsewhere.

    {Delayed Write Failed} Windows was unable to save all the data for the file . The data has been lost. This error may be caused by a failure of your computer hardware or network connection. Please try to save this file elsewhere.

    {Delayed Write Failed} Windows was unable to save all the data for the file . The data has been lost. This error may be caused by a failure of your computer hardware or network connection. Please try to save this file elsewhere.

    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.
    An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation.


    JUNK!! :banghead:

    PS: Is there a -working- fix for this yet? :D

    TCP/IP has reached the security limit imposed on the number of concurrent TCP connect attempts.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    XP-AntiSpy
    Once installed, you'll find the tcp/ip patch option in the menu shown in the pic.
    [​IMG]
  3. Jadawin

    Jadawin

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    165 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I had WD raptors for years now and no problems ever. Bad luck I guess.
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Could also just be that his mobo doesn't like the WD's. nForce4 mobos had a similar issue with Maxtor hard drives at one point, too.
  5. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    I've never had problems with WD, I always buy theo nes with 16mb cache...

    Maxtor on the other hand, I am still waiting for the 2 320GB HDDs they owe me. Pretty sure the 8to 10 weeks they quoted me has passed......I just don't feel like shelling out the dough to you know....sue them.
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah, I don't like Maxtor in the least. I've owned 3 of them in the past 3 years, all of them died within 9 months.
  7. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    ive had 95%+ bad luck with them too.. :( everything from random bad sectors and grinding sounds comming from the hdd (died and made the sound) to even blowing up a motherboard when one bit the dust (yeah real fire)
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2007
  8. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    I do know with some HDD problems that you can shove the HDD in the freezer for 20minutes or so, and you can use it again for a bit to try and get data and such off of it. I was able to do that with one of my Maxtor drives(both those drives died within 2months, still waiting on Maxtor)
  9. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Agreed, 110% - I've got a 36gb unit (original raptor), 74gb unit (in external SATA enclosure), & 2 150gb units (see thru Window type)... running perfectly!

    :)

    * I did have 1 of 2 36gb units go bad though, but it happened in the first 2 weeks of its usage... so, what did WD do, to make it right w/ me?

    WELL, they sent me the 2x as large storage capacity 74gb unit, which is also faster, GRATIS/NO CHARGE, as a replacement!

    (Talk about a HELL OF A DEAL!)

    APK

    P.S.=> There's talk here about the general failure rate of HDD's from GOOGLE (who runs many thousands of them for their server farms, thus, a pretty good statistical sampleset from heavily used disks):

    SLASHDOT ARTICLE LINK:

    http://hardware.slashdot.org/hardware/07/02/18/0420247.shtml

    OUR DISCUSSION OF IT HERE ON THE FORUMS:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=25708

    IMO, it's much like cars, or anything w/ moving parts: You either get a long-term winner, or a early death lemon... w/ proper care in the mix, of course! apk
  10. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    have you installed the patch from... http://www.lvllord.de/?url=tools?
  11. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,522 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Illinois
    Thank's for the tips. Seagate bought Maxtor as far as I'm aware. I had great luck with my Seagate drives. The 4 of those I have are still working great after 2 years 24/7. I leave my PC on all the time since Micro$oft can't build a quick booting opperating system. I remember my past WD drives, I'm complaining about, not being overclocker friendly. My e6600 is running at 3.6ghz at the moment but I'm thinking this could me memory related. RMA time.
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Did you get the tcp/ip patch workin in the meantime?
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Lazzer, I think I know how to get rid of those errs you saw:

    RightClick on the drive letter of the disk in question, using Explorer.exe, & then use the PROPERTIES menu.

    Within the next dialog box screen that appears, go to the HARDWARE tab, & then use the PROPERTIES button near the bottom.

    Another dialog box appears, & there, go to the POLICIES tab.

    First, try removing (this may not exist on 2000/XP, but it does on Windows Server 2003, on the 2nd setting I will mention, but the first SHOULD) this being checked off as in use (if it exists on the OS you use):

    ENABLE ADVANCED PERFORMANCE

    If that does NOT exist, then just uncheck this one:

    ENABLE WRITE CACHING ON THE DISK

    :)

    * That SHOULD do away w/ it... hopefully!

    NOW, if neither of those exist for YOUR type of disks? Then other types of disks present these options instead:

    OPTIMIZE FOR QUICK REMOVAL

    or

    OPTIMIZE FOR PERFORMANCE

    (Uncheck the 2nd one)

    APK

    P.S.=> That WILL lessen your overall performance though... but, that's better than losing data imo @ least! apk
  14. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Maybe it's an ongoing joke between WD and you, and they're only sending you their junk drives on purpose :p. I've had nothing but good luck with WD's. But then again, they are rather fragile :roll:.
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Raptors are enterprise level drives they are great!

    WD used to have some fairly serious issues years back, but lately they have been pretty good. When I started with computers I used Seagate drives, after that Quantum *now Maxtor*, and now I'm kinda back into the Western Digital drives again.
  16. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Western Digital are extremely good quality drives IMHO, I have never had one fail on me, I have had four Seagates fail from bad sectors and cheap crappy motors. Maxtor are the noisy bunch though... not very fast for the low end and very cheap-a favourite of dell.
  17. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,522 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Illinois
    I think Seagate bought Quantum and Maxtor. Can anyone verify? Also what is a quick easy -free- memory test program? I have memtest somewhere on a floppy. Is there anything better you guys recomend?
  18. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,522 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Illinois
    Wile E Thanks for the link and the screenshot. So far so good. No more errors! I tried some tcpip.sys files I found online but they didn't seem to help. This program did the trick...and a few others as well. :toast: I owe u one.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page