1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What application to monitor CPU's different cores and their temperatures?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SaiZo, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    As the title say, I would like to know what application that can show the temperatures on each of my cores on the CPU.

    My OS is Windows 7 x64, motherboard is MSI and the CPU is a Phenom II X6 AMD.
  2. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    SaiZo says thanks.
  3. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    latest changelog says support for bulldozer, not sure how well it works though
    SaiZo says thanks.
  5. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Seems to work fine on the AMD rigs I put together around here though sometimes you have to double check what certain things like "aux" or "system" temps refer to—not always what you'd think on some boards. It's free and quick to download so you can always try it and just delete it if it doesn't fit the bill.
    SaiZo says thanks.
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,482 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,143
    HWmonitor is very simple and works pretty good.
    SaiZo says thanks.
  7. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I use AIDA64
    SaiZo says thanks.
  8. Senupe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Santiago de Cali - Colombia
    Actually i'm using CoreTemp, it's very similar to HardwareMonitor wich it's excelent too. I use CoreTemp because it gives me color alerts when my CPU overheats, it's very useful when need different windows to manage different stuff, for all in one, use HardwareMonitor.
    SaiZo says thanks.
  9. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Does not show individual cores. But this could be an issue with my motherboard, correct?
  10. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Have had that one earlier, but was not what I was looking for.
  11. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,764 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
  12. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    I have come to the conclusion that my motherboard does not support or can show individual core temps.. It works for everyone else around here, but not for me.
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Senupe and SaiZo say thanks.
  14. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Thanks, but still the same.. Can only see 1 "cpu" temperature.
    Oh well, maybe a new motherboard then..
  15. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,764 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
  16. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Yeah, unfortunately with some systems you have to dig around and try a few things to find a piece of software that gives you the readings you want (and accurately). A lot of these are very similar but maybe one of the ones Arctucas recommended will do the trick. Good luck.
  17. Senupe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Santiago de Cali - Colombia
    Mmmm this may sound stupid, but it's probably your BIOS in not reading the temps or it's doing it weird, try updating your BIOS to the lastest version. Happened with my Pentium 4 ;)
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    For AMD, I like Core Temp, and I believe it also displays all the cores. Does for my 2600K, should for AMD too.
  19. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    I use AMD OverDrive, never had any problems with it and it uses less ram than steam :3
  20. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
  21. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Doesn't even show the temperature at all.
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Weird that's what I used and it displayed all cores :confused:

    I currently use this on my Intel system as well.
  23. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    I use HWiNFO which also has logging feature

    [​IMG]

    +++++++++++

    Open Hardware Monitor does not pick up temps for me

    [​IMG]

    +++++++++++

    CPUID Hardware Monitor is nice, but no logging feature

    [​IMG]
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  24. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  25. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,483
    realtemp is also decent, but im a core temp guy, with the sidebar gadget active so i can always see wahts going on
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page