1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What are the Negative (-) readings about??? i.e -12v, -5v, and do these look healthy?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by alexp999, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Hi,
    Just updated my mobo, and speedfan can now properly access the sensor chip :respect: , knew their was nothing wrong with PSU, crappy VIA chipsets! Anyway, I was wondering what the negative voltages are, I have searched and couldnt find anything, so if it has already been explained, please point me their.
    Here is a shot of speedfan:

    [​IMG]

    I was just wondering whether that reading on -12v was right or whether speedfan is just reading it wrong?


    Cheers.
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2008
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    They are exactly that, negative voltages. Your -12 and -5 are way off though, check with another program or in the BIOS if they are actually that far off, if so it's time for a new PSU.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just stumbled upon the thread alex. Those negatives voltages seem way to "high". Are those readings from the rig in your specs?
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2007
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yep, will reboot, see what bios says, cus I know speedfan isnt always accurate on voltages. So I assume that -12v should be around -12v and the same for -5v?

    Cheers.
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Although I read the specs of the psu, you should have no problems with the rails at what they are rated. The system may run fine by your screenshots. Have you had any stability issues at all?
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    No problems at all, the rear fan on the PSU is not even on!! (only comes on under heavier loads apparently) will just disable those two readings in speedfan, the BIOS does not have any readings other than the positive ones anyway!!!
    Speedfan must be reading it worng, on my old asrock 775dual-vsta, it read the 12v as 11.4v, and on my dad rig (see my sig) speedfan says he has a 12v reading of 9.5v, lol!!! In any case, it said that (what I have now renamed) vddr was vcore2??
    So its a good little program but only on the readings it gets right, lol!!!
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I was gonna ask, how come on my last board (775dual-VSTA) the mem was on 700mhz, 1.95v, 4-4-4-12 timings and scored 5.0 in Vista,
    But on this new board it is running at 667mhz, 1.8v and 4-4-4-12 timings and is scoring 5.5?!?!

    Cheers.
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just be careful. I don't wanna see your new motherboard go up in smoke. If you see any of your readings fluctuate worse than this definitely get a new psu.


    EDIT:The chipset architecture is just better.
    alexp999 says thanks.
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    K thanks, will keep an eye on the others, just have speedfan showing same as bios, plus the extra temps for the cores. This looks better:

    [​IMG]

    I also noticed in the first post, that I have two readings for +5v! lol, stupid speedfan!

    Thanks for you help.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page