1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What are your 3770k Temps and Voltages?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by guitarfreaknation, Feb 19, 2013.

  1. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    I have been messing around with the vcore and just wanted to see what you guys get in terms of temps and voltage VS clock.

    I'm currently on 4.5 GHz with 1.2 vcore. Any suggestions or tip? (I am really new to IvyBridge)

    Attached Files:

  2. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,067 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    You have room to go up to 4.6ghz.
    Just stay 80c or below.
    Set 46x at cpu multiplier and run IBT at very high or max settings.
    You may or may not need to increase your vcore slightly (you can do regular to get an idea of how much vcore you need, very high or max will need a little more usually, say 0.01 or .02v more).

    When you figure out what vcore you need for you final stable overclock, then you can start playing with offset voltage overclocking (stays at stock vcore and idle 1600mhz until you need to ramp up and offset to a higher voltage to sustain your load overclock), which is power and chip saving as you aren't constantly leaving your cpu at a higher vcore and temp.
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  3. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,081 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    I am at
    4800 Mhz,
    1,280 v
    and 85 ÂșC (average during cpu stress tests)
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  4. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    4.8 GHz 72C at full load
    1.270 voltage
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  5. syeef

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    287 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Is overclocking really necessary? If I do it, will I notice improvements? I am currently at stock, everything seems okay to me.
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  6. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    A a lot of OC is for enthusiasts it crunchers or both.Its nice in CPU intensive games or applications.Sometimes you can get on overclock without tweaking the voltages which is always nice: D
  7. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Thanks for the info. Definitely going to figure this out for my OC. Iwas just thing about the power saving feature and you happen to mention it.
  8. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,097 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,620
    I run mine at the lowest vcore possible for lowest temps and energy use. I think right now its at 4.2ghz @ 1.0xx vcore and loads at 55-57C. Used to run it at 4.4ghz but made no noticeable difference in performance.
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,081 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    OH YESRAH

    I also have Power Saving. Un-less I bench, or game, I run at 1600 Mhz at 0,9 volt. Just if you doubt it!!!!! 4800 is for intensive use.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    What are people using to load their CPU's? Different programs yield different results.
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,097 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,620
    My figures are loaded with Prime, with 100% WCG temps are a little lower ~50-52C.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    What version of prime works with with 1155? The version I use doesn't want to work. IBT and the rest work fine.
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,097 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,620
    According to my files I am using Prime 27.7
    erocker says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,441 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    918
    I use prime 27.9 (has a few bug fixes). It has AVX support and I find 24 hours of it to be radically better at telling you you're stable than any other program. IBT is great for testing your cooling but really you only fail that if you're far from stable. If you want to standardize the temp measurement here I'd say pick either 15 minutes of avx prime or 5 sets of max in IBT.
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  15. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,067 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Agree.
    IBT is more a test of cooling.
    Prime 95 is for stability.
    True stability is Hi Def Video transcoding (with SoThink HD movie maker I've failed under highest settings after passing IBT and Prime95...)

    But the newer Prime95 versions with AVX should be the same as Hi Def video transcoding.
  16. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,081 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    I use Aida64 for stress tests. Or BF3 ;)
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I can pass both, prime95 27.9 will still crash the system. But I don't care, and use BF3 for my own gaming rigs too now, since that's the most intensive thing I'll do.:p

    Review rigs must pass 72 hours of P95 though.
    erixx says thanks.
  18. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,441 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    918
    Glad to hear that as I've always been suspicious some reviewers aren't doing proper stability testing when they're showing off an overclock.

    Surprised you can't pass it on your own rig though. Don't feel like taking the time to mess with it? I know it can take awhile.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, that's part of why my overclocks are lower than other sites, too. But I also tend to look at things a bit differently when it is reviews rather than my personal system, partly because yes, the time involved, and secondly, because of the uses. All I really do on my system is play BF3, and for about 4 hours at the most in one sitting.

    Right now I have the 7950's at stock, CPU at stock, and ram @ 1333 C9 @ 1.25V.

    For reviews, I really punish these boards. build up, OS install, included software test, benchmark install then run 5x, then OC, then burn-in @ OC for 72 hours. I have yet to kill a board doing that, that I am aware of, even the budget ones. :laugh: CPUs are all pre-tested(max clock at set power consumption), so finding clocks is no big deal, and overclock testing is more about efficiency than anything, since at stock you have weird things like custom turbo profiles and such that skew numbers.
    erixx says thanks.
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'm running a 3770k @ 4GHz on a stock cooler @ 1.11v and it loads in the upper 70s C
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,441 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    918
    You don't even clock the memory past spec? That's a surprise haha. Well if you ever give it another shot I'd look to the whole cpu memory chain. 26 I could pass, 27 I couldn't so I gave up for awhile. I knew it was IMC related from the author's comments but vccio didn't help. Then I went off to fix my restart=shutdown issue and discovered on some Asus boards that can happen if you're a notch too low on the memory voltage. So I went to 1.65625v and the reboot issue was done and I was able to pass 27. This was not indicated by the BSOD code but it's what the issue was.
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I keep changing kits. I like both low-power and high performance, and when I got to game, I'll reboot and run 4.6 GHz & 2400 MHz. The lowered clocks drop idle power by nearly half, and also lower fan noise during the day. I have a pretty decent HT system for gaming with, so the fan noise doesn't bother me then. But I see no point in using extra power and paying more in my power bill when I don't need to. I'll end up buying the Surface Pro or another similar tablet for daily use, since that's all I really need.
  23. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,081 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    off topic, but I have 3 tablets (4", 7" and 10") for all my news, email and surfing needs when I am roaming around the block, home or city.

    But for my job - and my gaming- i need my powerful PC and I love it.

    Dev's: just make software that needs more power and I will buy it, but since some years it seems irrelevant.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page