1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What are your plans for Windows 7 ?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Jul 15, 2009.

?

What are your plans for Windows 7 ?

Poll closed Oct 23, 2009.
  1. I'll take a look soon and then decide if it's right for me

    1,555 vote(s)
    10.5%
  2. I'm happy with XP

    2,671 vote(s)
    18.1%
  3. I'm happy with Vista

    1,376 vote(s)
    9.3%
  4. Can't wait to switch (I have tried the RC)

    5,683 vote(s)
    38.5%
  5. Can't wait to switch (I haven't tried any beta yet)

    1,180 vote(s)
    8.0%
  6. I'll wait till it's more mature (Service Pack 1)

    1,244 vote(s)
    8.4%
  7. No thanks. Too expensive, not much new

    1,048 vote(s)
    7.1%
  1. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Well the RTM still cock blocks non-ms codecs, so its useless to me seeing as I dont feel like hacking around in the reg and renaming a bunch of files in order to be able to use better quality codecs then ms provides.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    no it doesnt. you can use any codecs you want, as long as you arent using windows media player, or media center. If a codec exists, MS's codec has priority - otherwise 3rd party ones will work in those too.
  3. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    only players that allow you to choose the codec can use 3rd party codecs for formats supported by an MS codec, players like Media Player Classic Home Cinema or The KMplayer, most players dont have any way for you to manualy choose a codec for each format used so your stuck with MS's codecs, I call that BS.

    The CoreAVC team is trying to find a way around that, and its pushing back the release date for CoreAVC 2 because Win7's release date was pushed up, They arent happy but they gotta find a way around ms's codec locks since MS did what I expected and kept it locked even after the os went RTM(alot of people thought ms was only locking it during testing and would unlock it after word)

    Im sorry but I really dont like MS telling me what I can and cant do on my computer, specly when the last 3-4 ms-os's have zero issue doing what I want them to do, how I want them to do it.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    most problems relating to windows media player, were caused by third party codecs and crap codec packs (i'm looking at you, K-lite) screwing things up. MS has merely made it so that THEIR players, cant be screwed over by bad codecs, if they have a working, provided alternative.

    And the codecs in 7 do work well - who needs coreAVC, when the codecs in 7 provide DXVA acceleration?
  5. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I have found the MS "DXVA" acceleration to be less efficient then coreavc or even in some cases ffdshows avc filters, Why shouldnt a user be able to go in to a setting applet choose that they want to allow the use of non-ms codecs(maby even how MPC and KMplayer do it?)

    K-Lite sucks ass, every time I tried to use it I ended up with problems, MS could just block installers for known offender packs.

    MS SHOULD offer a program for companies to get their codecs certified by ms to allow them to replace ms's own codecs IF THE USER WANTS.

    I know you dont use nvidia cards, but coreavc's cuda support really kicks ass, they would like to support stream(Ati cards) but the problem is ATI/AMD arent giving any direct hardware access, Also ATI/AMD arent giving developers good support, where NV are, hell they are helping the creator of MediaCoder develop his own cuda based h264 encoder that will be able to do stuff that no current GPU accelerated codec/encoder can do!!!!

    Im just currently not impressed with DXVA and Stream(yet i was an ati fanboy for years and still like their cards for gaming)

    just sucks that MS is cockblocking alot of great codecs for whatever reason.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    just because i dont have Nvidia cards in my systems, doesnt mean my housemates dont :) (and i used to have 8800GT's before the 4870's)

    CoreAVC works great - as long as you arent using high bitrate files, interlaced files, or files using the high quality profiles. You should see their forums, they're just as buggy as DXVA.

    (You uhh, might also want to look at the threads over there where they mention ATI wont let them use direct access through stream - i posted in all of em, and started some)
  7. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    strange, as long as bframes are kept to 16 I havent had problems with any of my mkv or mp4 files be it high or low bitrate(the 16 is a windows+cuda limit nvidia are supposedly working on fixing/removing)

    take a look a badaboom (Google it, or btjunkie it) on nvidia cards i can encode to h264 at good quility at 150-250fps on my 8800gts 512mb, x264 and every other decent AVC/h264 compatable encoder i have tried i pull at best 50fps for the same quility.........its very nice :)
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,989 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,093
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The only way I could justify spending $100+ to upgrade from Windows XP to Windows 7 is if it had backwards compatibility all the way back to Windows 98 SE (seamlessly integrated virtual computers and/or emulation with no extra licensing). At this point, Windows 7 offers nothing I want/need.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    i've got some files that work fine in every software codec, but neither ATI nor nvidia can run them in hardware - ones a direct rip of a matrix bluray i have (ripped it myself), the other is eclipse speedsubs files for FMA brotherhood - they both work fine in software, but go to crap in hardware (DXVA and cuda/coreavc).
  10. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    FMA:B, what episodes?

    all of them?
  11. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ok, just tested with the 190.xx drivers and coreavc 1.95 cuda enabled
    [Eclipse] Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood - 17 (1280x720 h264) [56C535EF].mkv
    plays perfectly fine with cuda acceleraton, infact it was silky smooth with no artifacts.......

    I think your problems are all due to win7 mussles, As testing on my system and one i just resetup for a friend(xp x64) both work flawless in cuda mode, Win7 has its issues, Server 2008/vista/xp x64/2k3 are better choices IMHO, at least you dont gotta waste time wondering if its the OS or the program/codec/exct thats the problem :)

    sounds like you got alot of issues on 7 personaly, ATI driver scaling issues, codec's not working as they should........must be fun :p
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
  12. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    I was dubious about the claimed speed till I benched it tonight. I actually saw a small 3dmark gain over xp. That`s great news after vista
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I really like vista 64 after all the recent updates it's turned out to be a great operating system, and I'm really not going to switch. I was scared at first to even try it but it runs great on my system and is snappy as hell.
    Meecrob says thanks.
  14. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,865 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I've tried 7100 and 7127 liked em both and I pre-ordered as soon as i could,cant wait till 10/22
  15. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    main issue with vista is the services check out http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/servicecfg.htm

    that will let you optimize the services, the main dif between win7 and vista that causes perf boost is the service manager not having everything set to auto, and the fact it can disable services once its done using them, if you follow that guide you will be SHOCKED at how large a difference it makes.

    Another tip with vista is to make damn sure you installed the latist dx9 runtimes, it MAKES A HUGE DEFERENCE in some apps/games the dx9 support the os comes with is..PATHETIC!!!
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    XP, vista and 7 are all the same when it comes to directX. You always need to update for new games - it nearly always comes WITH the game, regardless.
  17. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I have 2 newer games that still have early/mid 2008 dx runtimes on the disk, NEVER trust the game disk to have the latist build on it, its so easy to just go to the directx website and download the newer version!!!
  18. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    oh, and still wana know what episodes you have had problems playing using cuda coreavc, I downloaded them all and all the ones i have tested play fine in cuda mode......
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Still using 7100,seems fine to me.Pre-ordered win7,cant wait.
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    a specific releases group of fullmetal alchemist brotherhood, and a matrix movie i ripped myself. I said that in this thread, i believe.

    DirectX: games come with what they need. They dont need to have the latest on the disk, if the game doesnt require it. (IMO, it should be part of windows update)


    Most shows work fine in Cuda/DXVA - i cant remember the specifics after i googled it, but apparently there is different quality that one can encode with. Something like 4.0 and below works fine hardware accelerated, but 4.1? and up? doesnt (for ATI or Nvidia)
  21. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    I cant wait for the official release. Course I wont buy until service pack 1, or until my beta dies :laugh:
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    what are my plans for 7....

    well...

    im going to keep using it as i have been for months now.

    MSDN subs are nice
  23. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Same, I'm only going to buy it once my RC dies, then I'll download an ISO and use the 30 day evaluation and see if I can extend it to 90 or 120 days :p
  24. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I have all the subs from the group you mentioned(one i have followed for a long time to) and they all play great on my system with current nvidia drivers+coreAVC 1.95 CUDA mode.....

    and yes DX should be part of windows update, but its not, and even if they come with an old version, thats not a good thing, many times i have seen games come with a version made LONG b4 the game came out, its annoing since the newer dx runtimes fix bugs, improve performance and generally tend to work better, Its just laziness on the part of publishers that causes them to not include up to date runtimes OR that causes them to not include them at all......

    back to the anime, You said eclipse fansubs FMA:Brotherhood http://eclipse.speedsubs.org/projects/alchemist I have them all, they all play 100% fine in CUDA mode, thats why I was asking what episodes you tested with, also what driver revision and the like would be good to know since it WORKS PERFECTLY HERE.
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    they dont work on my housemates 8800GT, not sure what drivers he has. not like i can walk in and mess around with his drivers without getting murdered :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page