1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What can you tell me about Radeon HD3450?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Krazy Owl, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I just got it for free and wanna have opinions on the passive heatsink Radeon HD3450. What games could it play, what settings, full HD 1080P good or not. Thank you for the help! :) BTW it came form an Acer Aspire Desktop but cant remember the model and the motherboard was dead.
  2. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  3. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Yep but I want opinions from people on this forum. If I wanted google only and no advices I would have just used google and never suscribed here ;)
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well for one it is a very dated card. So I really do not think any one here would even remember that card. Most of us here will give advice on things but when it is this dated my thoughts would be to use google. There is not much you are going to get out of that card. Forget playing BF3! but it looks like it can do crysis so... What kind of games are you thinking about? Passive cooling is well just that passive, Your temps are not going to very good.

    [​IMG]

    As for full 1080p HD I really do not think this card is going to give you this at all.
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Best thing is to try and get a feel for it. Basically, it will blast through old games like Unreal Tournament (1999 release) and anything DX7. DX8 I'm not so sure about and DX9...

    I know this, because I've got a super low profile HD 2350 with a tiny 32-bit memory bus 64MB RAM. It was some OEM card I got for just £11 a few years ago. It's a plucky little card, I tell you. :D
  6. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I have a small cube case and thereis a 120mm intake fan blowing right onto the pci-e slot then beside it on the back 2 X 80mm exhaust fan. Ill take a look then but could it play BF2 multiplayer at full setting on 1080P ?
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Why don't you just try it with BF2? Discovering its capabilities is what makes us enthusiasts and not just users. BF2 is DX9 and I can tell you won't run very well, but you should still have a play.

    Trickson's answer was really comprehensive. :)
  8. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I'm stuck up north at work and all my stuff at home down south so I can only talk and not test. I get informed then I try when I go back home since I have lot to do during my 2 week vacations I don't loose time with useless add-on on pc :p
  9. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    no chance in hell. :)
  10. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Hell could be a good place to go since it was -42 celcius past few days :p
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Being away from your gear must be hell! :eek:

    At least I can see why you'd wanna ask about it though. :)
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    NO WAY! :eek:
  13. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I wanted to buy a mobo in another post using onboard Intel X4500 HDMI plug. Would it be better than this HD3450 ? Q6600 and 3 gigs ddr2-800
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Just pick up an HD5770 they are cheap. That will do what you want. Intel's on-board video sucks.
  15. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Thx :)
  16. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    A few years ago about 2007 I was broke and without a pc, all I had was about 200$, got an old case a old external ODD and a cooler master 450 watt PSU for free, bought a Maxtor 250GB HDD, a Biostar g33 Mobo, 2 Gigs of DDR2 533 and a Pentium e2160 and got from a friend a HDT cooler, and had only 25$ for the Gpu got a HD 3450 ddr3 from Visiontek and Overcloked the shit out of it, Pentium @3.2 Ghz the ram to 533 with 3-4-4-12 timings,I replaced the cooler of the card with an old amd fan/heatsink used some old heatsinks for the vram added a 80mm fan to the north brigde since it got hot as hell and managed a 835 core oc on the card and 950 on the mem just to play Mass Effect at low res and medium settings, was the most fun I ever had with a pc, you should try to push that little card might get some good times with it(Or Kill it xD)
    Krazy Owl says thanks.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,006 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,398
    1080p media playback: not a problem. people always think you need a video card for that, when its CPU limited. 8MB intel onboard can handle 720p video playback when setup correctly, to give a comparison.


    as far as gaming goes... well, the others covered that. its really low end, and basically 3 generation old onboard/IGP levels of performance.


    as for the BF comments:
    battlefield 2, sure, it might without AA.
    battlefield bad company 2... not a chance.
  18. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I use one in my HTPC but only as a video output to the TV, i would not consider it useful for gaming unless you can stand using min res and settings on games form recent years, although may deal OK with games 5 to 10+ years old.
  19. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Ok so ill dump it into another computer. Thx for the infos :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page