1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What card is more powerfull? (GTX 560M 3GB vs GeForce GTX 485M)

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by nicklan, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. nicklan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Which card is more powerfull?
    GeForce GTX 560M 3GB or GeForce GTX 485M 2GB?
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
  3. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Looks like the 485M is going to trump it (more shaders & more memory bandwidth). The size of the memory isn't going to affect anything unless it's under 1GB.
  5. nicklan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Those site hasn't got GTX 560M with 3GB
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    The extra memory doesn't make a difference unless it's less than what the card normally comes with. Unless you're going to be hooking it up to a 30" monitor, then it might make a 5% difference.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,909
  8. nicklan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol. It has got 1,5 GB, not a 3GB
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Nicklan, that does not make a noticable difference in performance.

    [​IMG]

    Take the GTX 580. The difference between 3GB and 1.5GB is 3%. Not significant!
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,909
    Especially on a laptop that most likely uses a lower monitor resolution. If anything the extra ram does nothing but eat into battery life. What a waste!
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Extra RAM on GPUs is strictly for marketing purposes, unless you're doing a multi-monitor, multi-card setup. That one of the few times where extra GPU RAM actually helps.

    Some companies actually go from high performance RAM to twice the RAM, but a much lower performance RAM, and it can severely hamper performance, while the uneducated customer thinks it's better, and pays more money for it.
  12. Evilrising New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wrong wrong wong

    There are differences between the 1.5 and 3gb 560m. The 1.5 gb 560m video card that you see is most laptops uses 128 bit memory interface while the 3gb version (Asus g74sx for example) uses a 192 bit interface. Bigger tube better performance.

    Note: I read the warning that this post was old but considering it was one of the top posts in my search I feel it still warrants correction.
  13. John Doe Guest

    http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-560M.48313.0.html

    Nope. However more lube means more performance for sure. :D
  14. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    That's a fairly unique occurrence, but definitely one of note. I wouldn't call that "wrong wrong wrong" though.

    Most cards with the same GPU side by side will perform nearly equally with different amount of RAM unless you're at a high resolution. Some manufacturers will actually sell two variants of a mid-range card. One with 1GB of GDDR5, and one with 2GB of GDDR3. The former performs a lot faster while the 2GB card lags behind, therefore tricking the uninformed consumer into purchasing the inferior card.
  15. Evilrising New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Regarding your first paragraph, it is definitely an occurrence of note considering the original post was regarding the 560m 3gb which allows me to say the information that everybody was giving the OP was wrong because it is not in fact the same as the 1.5gb version.

    Regarding your second paragraph, what you said is 100% accurate and I myself have fallen victim to this market scheme before.. very annoying! :ohwell:
  16. Evilrising New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just noticed the multi-quote but too late now. The Best Buy 560m is only 128 bit. Seems the vast majority of them are 192 bit but another lesson I have learned previously, do not buy best buy :p
  17. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Worst buy is the crappiest place to buy anything. They overcharge for everything, and they water their products down to make more money selling them to uneducated consumers. Anyone with a handful of self respect should avoid that place completely. There's no reason to shop there IMO. Not that any of this is related to the topic, but this thread is so old it doesn't really matter anymore lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page