1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What clocks and voltages are you running on your E8400?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Black Panther, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Says it all in the title...

    Any info will help me since I'll be getting mine next Monday.

    Thanks! :respect:
  2. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    1.2875 V @ 4050 MHz.
    Northbridge 1.12V
    Cheapo Kingston ram @ 900 MHz with 1.98 V (5-5-5-18)

    Yet to do real stability testing though and as always your mileage may vary. :cool:
    Black Panther says thanks.
  3. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,796 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Depends on if you get the CO or EO revision!!
  4. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i have a E8600 so i asume they will be simlar @ stock (333X10) i run it at 1.05v and at 4.33ghz (433x10) i think its 1.3v much faster and i had to shoot the volts through the roof.. i forget what i needed for 4.7ghz

    i will check when i get home if it a CO or EO revision and also double check the volts
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    I'd be very lucky if I get an EO revision. You see this is just a case of us getting a new system for work, and we decided that I get an 8400 and 4GB RAM and Vista x64 but put it in my gaming system and in return I put my E4300, 2GB RAM and XP x86 in the work system.

    Rampage
    : The E8400 is 333x9 (not x10) basically exactly the same motherboard settings as I had to put my E4300 @ 3.0Ghz.
    I also had been running my E4300 @ 3.0Ghz @ 333fsb x 9 multiplier at 1.35V in bios. Had I read more about the vanilla P5B's vdroop I would have attempted more voltage- but the most I ever risked was 1.375V in Bios which gave me 3.16Ghz for the processor which is 351 FSB.

    I read that people got above 500fsb on the vanilla P5B though.... Now if I read that info here I'd come around to believe it.
    Please also quote bios version.

    As regards the E8400 though I see that its stock voltage is quite lower (1.2V?) compared with the stock voltage of my previous E4300 (1.34V).
    Actually studying the cpu database now I'm amazed that I had been running my E4300 at 3.0Ghz stable on just 1.35V for more than a year and a half? :eek: Probably with the P5B's vdroop that voltage had been falling to less than 1.25 for sure!

    (I got a habit of letting sleeping dogs lie, or as we more habitually say - if it ain't broke don't fix it...)
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    [​IMG] :eek:

    My voltage is pretty high for a 45nm chip, but it requires that for stability.
  7. Pum New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have an E8400 E0, but haven't finished testing OC and stability or tuning vcore etc. So far I've got 4.34GHz (482x9) OCCT stable for at least 10 mins (no problems - didn't have time to test longer) of full load @ 1.412 vcore set in BIOS. In Windows, utils like CPU-Z and OCCT reported vcore at 1.39v @ idle, 1.36v @ full load.

    At 4.4GHz (489x9) at the same voltages I could run Super PI 1M, but OCCT errored after a few minutes (system didn't crasdh though.) Might be possible to achieve stability at 4.4GHz, but I'm not interested for now - I was just doing a quick exploration of my hardware's limits.

    At 4GHz (445x9) provisionally stable (not fully tested or tuned) @ 1.25 vcore, reporting 1.232v in Windows @ idle.

    Last night I was testing how low I could set vcore at stock 3GHz (333x9). I tried something around 1.1 vcore in the BIOS (don't have exact figure with me) and was OCCT stable fro the full 1 hour test. May go lower, but haven't tried yet.

    However, each chip can be a bit different. You can't always copy someone elses values and leave it at that. You'll probably need to do your own testing to establish minimum stable vcore for your settings and particular hardware.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page