1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What could be the problem? (low fps in BF3)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by yuri221, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. yuri221 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey guys, been playing Battlefield 3...and getting shit fps.
    I'm not sure why, my rig should be able to run the game on ultra x4AA at 60 fps but I get lower than 30.
    PC SPECS:
    Sapphire 7950 OC
    3820 3.6 GHZ+X79-UD3
    8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHZ
    Wentern Digital Caviar Green 1T HDD
    PSU Corsair HX620W

    Thank you for your trouble.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,777 (12.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,697
    You should be able to get over 60fps in single player, not multi player. It could also be your WD Green drive slowing things down.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  3. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,094
    You haven't told us one important thing. Monitor resolution
     
  4. yuri221 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    1920x1080
    The weird thing is that I get pretty much the same fps on high and ultra...
     
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,094
    Other games running fine? Just this one underperforms? You get 30FPS on High?
     
  6. yuri221 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yup
     
  7. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,360 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    If bought through steam try going into steams directory for the game and launching it from the main executable. Sometimes if I launch certain games with steam they run like crap but if I start it from the main executable it runs fine..
    Worth a shot, GL ^^.
    Also if in caralyst you have crazy settings overriding the game settings, it will hurt ya.. Set catalyst settings to "Use Application settings"
     
  8. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    233 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    try resetting everything to stock and compare... sometimes that helps.
     
  9. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,094
    BF3 can't be bought through Steam.

    Try the usual, other drivers, check temps on the card. I assume the game is legit and it's patched up to date. Internet connection slow? How is it performing in SP? Reinstall game.
     
  10. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    FL.
    deleting this folder usually helps

    C:\Users\yourname\Documents\Battlefield 3
     
  11. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Probably application settings in CCC
     
  12. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,373 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    NOPE!

    Big misconception. Especially if you are playing multiplayer maps with 64 players. Look at TPUs video card reviews and you'll see that 40FPS is about average for your card. So I would assume the minimum FPS would be a lot lower.

    Everything seems normal, bottom line BF3 is a weirdly coded game. Don't blame your rig, blame EA.

    http://tpucdn.com/reviews/AMD/HD_7850_HD_7870/images/bf3_1920_1200.gif
     
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,190 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    high AA killing performance
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,323 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,837
    Wasn't there talk of IQ in the game stepping up with better components? IF that was true I would have to guess you are getting more in each frame and might be why the frames aren't all that impressive in amount, but I bet it is prettier to look at.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page