1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What CPU Cooler For Parents Computer?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by helloWorld, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Before I joined the Army, I had watercooled my parents computer because I liked to play games on it and experiment with overclocking. The computer has a Core i7 950, socket LGA 1366.

    I didn't want to leave it watercooled, since I didn't think that my parents wanted to constantly have to maintain it so that it didn't leak. So, I took the watercooling off, put on the stock Intel cpu cooler, and returned the cpu clocks back to stock speeds and voltage.

    I knew that the stock cooler SUCKED, but I didn't realize how bad it sucked. At stock speed and stock voltage, the CPU maxes out at ~ 100 C.

    I would like some opinions as to what kind of aftermarket cooler that I could put on that would cool the CPU better. I would prefer one that already came with a fan on it as well.

    Remember, this is not for my PC, this is for my parents PC.
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I ran a Corsair A70 on my I7 920 OCed to 4ghz and full load was bearly 70 deg cell on hot days :)
    helloWorld says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    i say OEM intel water loop. ;)
    [​IMG]
    helloWorld says thanks.
  4. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    751 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    i say coolermaster hyper 212 evo.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,075 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    +1 or the regular hyper 212 or the corsair A50 or A70(my 2600k OC'ed to 4ghz hits 70'c under my A50 while crunching 24/7 in a room that stays between 70-74'f)
    helloWorld says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Cooler Master hyper 212+ or Evo. Both cheap and I can say for sure that they'll work great.
    helloWorld says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,370 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Zalman 9900 or a Noctua D14 or Noctua U12P. The Zalman is the cheapest out of the three and only performs a few degrees hotter than the others.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Intel loop is better by 3%
    [​IMG]
    the RTS2011LC is a mere 3% cooler than the NH-D14 SE2011
    helloWorld says thanks.
  9. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you for the response guys. I ended up purchasing the Corsair A70.
  10. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    So, I installed the A70, and I am getting the exact same temperatures as the stock Intel CPU cooler.

    The CPU is still stock clocked with stock voltage, i am running the fans on the A70 at 2000 RPM, I only put a little MX-3 on top of the CPU, the fans are oriented push-pull from front to rear of the case, I don't know what is going on???
  11. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,370 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    I'm unfamiliar with the A70 but just check if you put enough thermal paste on.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  12. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    How much MX-3 should I put on the CPU? I literally put ~ a pea size of the MX-3 right on the center of the CPU top.
  13. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    835 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    That's generally good enough, try re-seating the cooler, and make sure its on nice and tight if you think it should be doing better.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  14. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    What do you mean by re-seating the cooler? Sorry, I have absolutely no experience with air cooling.
  15. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you Sinzia.

    I watched a youtube video about re-seating cpu coolers, so I changed the entire block orientation so that the push-pull fans are oriented so that air flow is from the bottom of the case to the top. It is an 800D, so it has plenty of exhaust ports at the top.

    I also redid the TIM, by applying a pea sized amount and then spreading it out with some thick paper over the top of the CPU.

    Now, according to the Realtemp 3.60, the highest temperature my CPU attained during 10 runs of IntelBurnTest 2.53 at standard stress level on all CPU threads was 78 C / 172 F.

    That temperature is so much better than the stock CPU cooler. Mind you, my parents like their electricity bill as low as practically possible, so that ambient air inside of the house is 24 C / 75 F.
  16. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Low electricity, did you remember to reactivate the speed stepping after you set the clocks back to stock so the CPU will be able to change its voltages and its multiplier?
    helloWorld says thanks.
  17. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Yes.
  18. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    What's wrong with the stock cooler exactly?
  19. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    100C at stock clocks and voltages. ;)
    helloWorld says thanks.
  20. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    From what I've read, you have to apply a thin strip of paste along the middle of all the heatpipes touching the CPU heatspreader for exposed-heatpipe heatsinks. It's mostly because the extra gaps from the nature of the technology require a bit of paste to fill up.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  21. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    @Dan, BlackOmega is right. The temperature of 100 C from the stock cooler was unacceptable to me.

    @Kantastic, I did your suggestion just to do it, and the temperatures got approximately 6 C cooler :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page