1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What do I need for mac (building computer)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ravenas, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Is there anything special hardware that mac requires? I must admit mac is my favorite all around operating system, i consider it better. However, I like windows for my games! (I don't know how long that will last since ea and id just signed on with mac, but directx 10 will be great.) Guys this is not a post to talk about macs features vs. windows. I just want to know what mac actually requires (hardware wose to work)? Please help!
     
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    i thought mac used pretty much any hardware :confused:

    I think theyr supposed to be 64 bit compatible parts though
     
  3. mello_newf

    mello_newf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
    I remember reading mac's require Mac specific parts like RAM and HD's (I think their are workarounds for this) I don't know about mobo's and CPU's but I remember something about mac's using their own kind of intel specific CPU that are rated for mac's?... Or i could be way off. :laugh:
     
  4. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    there are macs using core 2'sand xeons though
    just look at the macbook for example
     
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    indeed, because my macbook uses a 2 core duo
     
  6. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Most newer models take the regular memory etc, and you can run windows also, not sure about vista though.
     
  7. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
  8. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    you can use 34 bit vista + !! 64 bit vista !!
     
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    but does mac support quad cores?
     
  10. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
  11. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes, as with PC's it depends on the model(mobo).
     
  12. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    OK, let me get this straight...

    Are you trying to build a Hackintosh (A PC capable of running OS X)? Or are you trying to build a frankinmac (A custom build actual Mac computer)? :ohwell: :confused:
     
  13. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    i dont see why hardware is an issue, as long as the hardware is compatible with each other you should be able to run a mac OS on it. Unless the OS itself doesnt support the hardware, but i dont see why it shouldnt...its not exactly an obscure OS.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  14. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    i making a computer built for mac, but with boot camp i will use vista to play all the new dx10 games
     
  15. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    :laugh::toast:
     
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee

    :banghead:
     
  17. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    OK, thats still a little vague...

    A normal Mac Pro can run windows vista using boot camp or whatever so just buy a normal mac!?!

    Or is it that you want a computer that will operate MS Vista natively, like a standard PC as well as be able to run Apple's OS X operating system on the side or in a dual boot setup?
     
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    no im building my own computer just because i enjoy building my own, plus i don't like buying proprietary systems from companies
     
  19. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    I don't think Mac's support AMD, but they will suport Intel XEON (quads also).
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  20. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I've never entered the amd world (besides my ati x800 card), always stuck with intel, but i dont really have a preference.
     
  21. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
  22. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    haha that's pretty extreme, i dont really want to do that, just doing a raid mac/windows setup
     
  23. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    OK, so you want to build your own custom rig that will be able to run OS X, correct?

    If this is the case, have a look @ OSx86Project.org to get a rundown of the current status of what hardware you need in order to build a PC capable of running Mac OS X. AMD CPUs and chipsets have been reported capable of running OS X x86. Going this route will allow you to build a normal like PC with OS X supported hardware and the site goes in depth into the process. Something to check out for sure in your particular case.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You can't just build a Mac. You can build a PC, and run a hacked version of OS X on it, but then you can't update it normally, because it breaks the os. And if you don't use exactly the same hardware as a Mac, you can be plagued with all the driver problems that Windows PCs can have.

    Intel Macs don't have a BIOS, they have EFI, so even if you do get OS X running on a PC build, Boot Camp will not work.

    Another option is to scour sale sites to try to find actual used Mac parts, and piece one together that way. You'll actually end up paying more to build it this way, as the parts are ridiculously expensive.

    Your only other option is to just buy a Mac already. It will save you a ton of headaches. After fighting with OS X on a PC for months, I finally just broke down and bought an Intel Mac. Trust me, it was worth it.


    Short version= It's possible to build one, but not worth the hassle.


    Oh and @ everyone else - Macs don't take special hard drives and ram. That's just a scam. I run el cheapo DDR400( READ: Whatever is on sale) in my PowerMac G5, my Bro-in-laws PowerMac G4, and in my former iMac G4. I also run Plain old Corsair SoDIMMS in my iMac, along with combinations of Seagate, Western Digital and Hitachi hard drives in all of them.

    The only things you have to really worry about are add-in cards (Sound, RAID, gfx, etc.). They have to have Mac specific drivers or BIOSes/firmware. And you also have to be careful with CPU replacements/upgrades on anything before an Intel Mac. You have to do your research and make sure what you want is compatible with your exact model. Even if it's from the same line (like PowerMac for example), the board can be completely different from a 1.6Ghz model, to even just the 1.8Ghz model.

    And 64bit Vista does not work properly with Boot Camp. There are no drivers, atm.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  25. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    ah...well that sucks. i have a macbook atm with the newest mac os on it, and i love everything about their operating system. however, windows has the answer to all the games i love to play.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page