1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What do I need to run this game?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by cameronh779, Mar 19, 2014.

  1. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
  2. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    By the way my resolution is 1600x900 but I would play on low settings and a lower resolution. I just want it to be smooth. Maybe I can overclock my current GPU to that point.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,524 (10.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,041
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    A 7770 would be fine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    So GPU would be it? The 7770 is my cheapest option?
  5. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,154 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,653
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I would suggest the R7 250x 2gb or R7260 2gb both use GDDR5. You really don't have a lot of options with a 350w powersupply. You might could use a Gtx250 ti as well.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,222 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    GMT +2
    more ram too.
    you have 4gb game min requirement is 6gb
    and if you go 7770 you will need new psu (min system power for card is 450W)
    look at r7 250x or r7 260(non X). still you will need new psu
  7. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I wish I would have never purchased this game. Its going to cost me more money than its worth.

    This would be the only game I would upgrade my computer for. Every thing else I want to play is fine. I just don't think its worth it and I practically begged steam for a refund..

    If a 7770 would work I could see my self maybe getting one of those by offering my card + cash for one. What do you guys think?


    EDIT: Check this out:

    4GB Ram
    Dual Core
    7770

    Anyone?
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 19, 2014
  8. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    No other opinions? Seems like just a 7770 would be fine. Im sure it can run on a 350W I only have 1HDD, 1 DVD Drive, 1 Fan and a low power cpu. Do you guys think the 7770 would do it?
  9. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,222 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    GMT +2
    check r7 250x or r7 260 they might be on better price
  10. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Are you sure the extra 2GB of ram is necessary? Doesn't seem to be based on the videos ive seen.
  11. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,222 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    GMT +2
    could be but you can buy ram later.
    atm most important is gpu upgrade. when you get gpu check if your psu can power new vga so it run smooth and after that is ram.
    since you are on budget upgrade step by step.
    gpu first. psu second (if needed). at last ram (again if needed)
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,875 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,178
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Probably not, at the resolution you play at, but at 1080p with some anti aliasing, 2gb would be a must.
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,875 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,178
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I think he was talking vram. But maybe not.
  14. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,222 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    GMT +2
    he is asking about 6gb min sys requirements of the game not for vga ram
  15. kajson

    kajson

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    the best possible graphics cards with your current power supply would be the new, 750 and 750ti from nvidia, other then that I'd consider a 650 or 650 ti or a 7750/7770 amd

    you are using the 240 2gb currently? 7770 or a 650ti would be affordable upgrades second hand.
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  16. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    581 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
  17. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks for all the help guys. Last question.. Is 7770 the least I can go? Would nvidia be better for Ghosts?
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,875 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,178
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    7770 is the lowest id go.
  19. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    After I get that will I be able to run ghosts smoothly at 1600x900 Lowest settings?
  20. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,908 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,436
    :oops:A new PC. What I mean by that is after looking at the requirements that Geforce lists and comparing that to your system, IMHO you need to upgrade 4 items to run the game the way that you want. Your CPU(APU) just barely meets the minimum requirements(MR). Your RAM is under MR. Your video is under MR.
    What I would suggest:
    CPU: 750K (your APU is rated at 65 watts. This CPU is rated at 100 watts, so a PSU upgrade would not be needed. There is the Athlon X4 740 that's also 65 watts)
    RAM: 8GB 1600 or better. (check your motherboard's specs and get the fastest that it will handle)
    GPU: I'm kinda lost here, but I'd say 7750 or better or GTX 650 or better. I'm going light here to save money.
    Those upgrades will require a PSU upgrade, but only to a quality 450-500 watt unit.

    Now you don't have to go out and buy all of this at once, but I would recommend that you start with the CPU, PSU second.(LOL, don't you like how we differ in our opinions) Look for rebate deals. Latest Newegg e-mail has 3 PSU between 550 and 600 watts for $35-40 after MIR. Used GPU?

    I'm frankly afraid that you will come back disappointed if you just throw a GPU at your system. I think your CPU/RAM is holding back the GPU that you have. What speed is your current RAM?


    Lesson learned? Try before you buy.;)
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  21. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    If your correct then I am just going to forget it. Ghosts is the only game I want to run that I cant. Im not gonna spend all that money just to play ghosts..

    Heres my ram information.

    Yeah, its not refusing to run the way I have it. It just informs you each time you run it.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 19, 2014
  22. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,908 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,436
    AMD systems benefit from fast RAM, especially if you're using the GPU of the APU. Your RAM is only running at (effective)1333 MHz.
    What is the model of your motherboard?

    Edit: What about that R7 240? Which model is it?
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  23. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    289 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    I think OP missed one crucial part, the budget.
    If we dont know the bugdet, we will not be able to pick the right part for your wallet.
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  24. Chetkigaming

    Chetkigaming

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    222 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    OP, Minimum System Requirements isn`t smooth gaming experience. So i just left it here:
    i5 4670k, 6-8gb ram, gtx 760 / r9 280.
  25. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,807 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,942
    I mean to no disrespect, but if Ghosts is the only game you want to play, save your money because the game is a major let down, even for many CoD fans.
    gdallsk and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page