1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What do you want to see from 3870 Crossfire?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Dr. Spankenstein, Dec 16, 2007.

  1. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    My cards are due in Monday. 2 HIS HD3870 from NCIX. They are sequential barcodes and the serial numbers are 4 apart. Thought it would be a good opportunity to see how closely matched they were.

    Anyone have suggestions for what battery of benchmarks/tests I should put them though to determine how closely they perform?

    Plus, if anyone has links to all the Hotfixes and whatnot I need to get Crossfire going in XP and Vista it would be much appreciated.

    As info, my system is:

    E6600 @ 3.7GHz
    975x chipset=8 x 8 PCI-e
    Mushkin XP2-6400 @ 1024MHz

    Let me know what you want to see run and I'll try to accomodate. Besides, I've got to get them tested quickly as my wife is requiring them to be wrapped and under the tree for Christmas (as they are a gift from my kids)!
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2007
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    I would love for you to get a quad and a x38 chipset, and have the fastest system here. ATi FTW!!! Really, though I would love to see your cards in crossfire with 800+ cores!
     
  3. Yin

    Yin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    the differences between your X1950XT, so basically an idea how much performance you gain after spending all that money
     
  4. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
  5. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    not great deal of speculation zoab.. as it comes out of the box crossfire dosnt work in crysis.. hotfix drivers or no hotfix drivers..

    the interesting bit is why it dosnt work out of the box in crysis..

    is it an ati foul up or an nvidia torpedo.. ????

    is "how its meant to be played" being turned into "how it has to be played".. ???

    i love conspiracy theories.. :D

    trog
     
  6. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Working on it!;) All in good time. I need Mushkin to drop their new DDR3. Sorry, I'm picky!:laugh:

    To be fair, I'll be running a few last runs of 3DMark05, 06 and Crysis Benchmark. Seeing as I spent close to $300 for the 1950XT (less than a year ago!), I'm pretty sure the gain I get from 1 $220 card will be outstanding. Whether I get my $420 worth of performance at this point in time is probably not known, but I'm sure it will be after a few more driver releases.:D

    I'm all over this one! I'll just need to re-download the demo.

    I thought that mascaras came (in the thread pertaining to the Korean hack) to tell us it works with the Cat 7.11 drivers, no need for Hotfix...:confused:
     
  7. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    "korean hack".. dunno.. as i said it dosnt work out of the box.. hotfix drivers or 7.11 drivers.. still u are about to find things out i no longer can.. my second card is gone..

    i still find all this amazing to be honest.. the fact crossfire didnt work in the one game it needed to work in.. played a big part in my decision to abandon crossfire..

    and perhaps a lot of people to not go crossfire in the first place.. and if a bunch of koreans can make crossfire work in the most important game out there.. what the hell is ATI doing..

    trog
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.7GHz

    15-16k 3d06
     
  9. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    ^^ Is that a prediction?!?:eek:

    Well, the whole point was that Crytek took the ability to utilize Crossfire out of the RETAIL version. Like others have said: "The Way It's Meant To Be Played"=dirty...

    What was the trick to get crossfire to work on 3DM06 and 3DM05? was it a .cfg file?
     
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    No you just need to remove that file in you futuremark folder in system 32.

    With vista make sure you download the sli/crossfire patch.


    Crysis hell even Sli didn't work....(I bet it will be fixed in the next driver)
     
  11. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    I would like to see the numbers on any benchy's you run. crossfire and maybe a single card aswell so you know how much you gain from having two of em.
     
  12. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    @ DaMulta Could you elaborate as to which file to delete?

    *edit* BTW, Nice single card score in 3DM, my man!

    As it stands, the benchmarks I have at my disposal are:

    3DM06
    3DM05
    Crysis Benchmark

    What else to you kooky kids like to see numbers from?
     
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Direcpll.dll
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  14. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I want too see what I saw... Much cooler system and incredible performance increases over my 1950xt 512mb cards.
     
  15. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Amen brother! Can't wait to slap these in a X38 board with a Yorkie and really let them fly!
     
  16. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    those koreans were using 3850 cards or at least the mascaras dude was in his benchmark thread.. i cant see as that would make a difference as regards crossfire appearing to work in crysis.. but it might..

    he makes no mention of AA killing the games performance either.. and from what i read sli does work in crysis..

    lets hope u are happier with your crossfire experience than i was dude..

    with an overclocked intel system u are bound to see a leap in your 2005 and 2006 scores.. but what i am interested in is seeing a genuine improvment in the gaming experience.. praps i aint seeing things as i should but pushing 150fps into 200 fps seems rather pointless to me..

    so to answer your post title.. what i really want to see is.. a game that wont play nice turned into a game that will play nice with crossfire..

    increases in out of date benchmarks and out of date games (used as benchmarks) dont count with me.. i want to see some real benefit from it..

    trog
     
  17. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    I hear ya! I am mostly looking for a better gaming experience. (My e-peen is of no concern. I'm just a guy from Nebraska who wants Crysis, Bioshock, World in Conflict and whatever new game comes along to play smoothly.)

    My 1950XT has served admirably, but with the new games and DX10 happening I felt it was time to "make the move".

    I agree that we shouldn't have to jump through hoops to get Crossfire to work in newer games, especially Crysis. But like you said, we all love c-o-n-spiracies! Crytek is now responsible for billions of dollars in revenue for hardware manufactures worldwide. They don't have to throw anyone a bone (unless they are a partner)!;)
     
  18. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    i think the bone has likely been thrown to crytek.. i did read some huge monetary figure somewhere.. cant remember where thow.. a partner could be one word for it.. he he

    optimizing for a certain card is one thing.. but building in a cripple for another kind of stinks a bit to me.. if and i only say if things like that are going on i recon we didnt ought to let it pass unoticed..

    best of luck with your new cards..

    trog



    ..
     
  19. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Momma said the cards are here!

    Dispite the issue with my CPU/block getting pitted by MX-2, I will persevere and continue with testing Crossfire.

    My planned tests are as follows:

    3DM05
    3DM06
    Crysis Benchmark @ 1280x1024 with and w/o 4xAA (Single & CF)
    @ 1440x900 with and w/o 4xAA "
    @ 1680x1050 with and w/o 4xAA "
    @ 1920x1200 with and w/o 4xAA "

    Anyone care for any other benches? CINEBENCH? Lightsmark? Aquamark?
    If so, what are the defaults and what other resolutions do you want to see?

    Cheers!
     
  20. NGL_BrSH New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the aw9d-max on the 975x chipset.. i'm thinking dual 3870's for crossfire... lemme know how these perform at the 8x!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page