1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What GPU would work best?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Melvis, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi guys,

    I have built myself a little gaming rig to take to LAN's so i dont have to carry my big ass heavy case all the time. Anyway in short i just want to know what would be the best fit GPU i could use with this system (cost in mind also)

    Specs are as follows:

    Silverstone 450W PSU 38A rail
    AMD Phemon II 955 at stock
    1 154GB Raptor for OS
    1 500GB WD Black for games
    3x60mm fans
    4USB multi card reader
    DVD burner

    I was thinking of using my brothers 4850 since he is about to update it with a 6870, but was just wondering what else i could use?

    :toast:

    Also the card cant be very long as there is limited room (7/8inchs) i think.
     
  2. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    What resolution do you play at?
     
  3. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh yes sorry i forgot to add that, umm honestly im not 100% what rez ill be using when i do take it to the LAN ( i have many monitors) i guess it depends on the GPU? if i was to use my brothers 4850 then id go no higher then 1680*1050? MAX rez would be 1600*1200 be my guess.
     
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    How about your budget then? Regardless, the 7770 is your best bet.
     
  5. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well you should look for HD 7770 and GTX 460 if it fits in your case!
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  6. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Yeah what is your budget?
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,268 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Seriously at that res you can roll with a 9800 GTX+ or anything newer. Not trying to be an ass, Just it wont take all that much GPU power to put you into great gaming on that screen, even with AA or AF tweaked up for a cleaner image.
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    To be honest i dont want to spend alot at all, i could get my brothers 4850 for less then $50, overall this whole system is under $400 AUS so far. But thanks if the 7770 is the best option then that gives me an idea what to aim for.

    I dont mind used cards, so anything older is very welcome!!

    @ Sneeky yep thats fair enough hence why i thought the 4850 would be plenty as well :)
     
  9. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well then HD 7770 is your best bet!
    for your res you can easily get 45+ fps in bf3 at you max res with everything maxed out
    but in HD 4850 everything maxed out you can get 38+ fps
    So this is the difference of it!
     
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Fair enough, any idea on the length of the 7770? ill recheck the space i have and ill put up a old picture of it to give an idea of the size im talking about.
     
  11. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well the lengh of HD 7770 is just above 8 in"
    and you are saying you can get you brother's HD 4850 which is above 9.5" i don't know what are you talking and can i have a pic of your PC case with a ruler !
     
  12. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    check TPU's review for GPU size!
     
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The 7770 is pretty much the most power efficient and a very compact card ;)
    [​IMG]
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  14. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Hmm ok, naaa my brothers is only like 7 inch's long i think, its a HIS none reference design. But yes ill get back to you a little later with sizes and pics for you.
     
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Here are some pics you wanted to get an idea of the size im working with and the length of my brothers 4850 :)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012
  16. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Looks like a HTPC to me
     
  17. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well you can take your brothers HD 4850 because look like no option
     
  18. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,544 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    941
    On the one hand, a 4850 for $50 is just under half what you can get a new 6850 for, but it's barely more than half as powerful, and used vs new. I would try and find a used, refurbed, or auctioned 6850 in the $75-$100 range. Like a 4850 it will run off a 450w PSU too.
     
  19. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Im not sure what it was used for, far as i know it was used just as a normal PC till the PSU gave up, so he gave it to me for free and when i got it home i fell in love with the case and its design i decided to upgrade the insides. Only problem was i had to cut and drill a back mounting plate to suit the new 450W mini PSU, apart from that everything fits in perfectly.

    The third pic is of it not long after i got it with the old Skt A stuff inside it still, and for sale by the way lol

    Not here in Australia, the cheapest 6850 i could find new was $160 and going by my brothers 6870 they arnt short lol
     
  20. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,544 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    941
    I see, didn't notice you were in Aus. In that case if it's a reliable brand and in good shape, your bro's 4850 sounds like a fair deal that will get you by.

    And speaking of Aus, go Cadel! He's having a tough time with that Bradley this time around though. I'm sure he's telling himself it's his dad's Aus genes though. LOL
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea my brothers 4850 has been perfect, best card he has ever owned, even runs super cold.

    lol is that cycling? i havent kept up to date with it sorry.

    Anyway i had a look at the size of the HIS 7770 > http://www.hisdigital.com/un/product2-681.shtml and it would JUST fit i think as i have a little over 8.5inchs of room for the GPU to fit.
     
  22. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Hey can i ask you something!?
    Every where you wrote Brothers HD 4850
    My question is
    Is the brother is a company or it is really your brother's card
    However Please write HD 4850 it is kind of weird to write brothers!
    And do you have more then 1 brother because you wrote brothers if not then you should write "Brother's"
     
  23. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    lol it realy is my brother, and i only have 1.

    Well brothers would be correct otherwise it would sound weird saying it > it is my brother card? :S see? lol
     
  24. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,544 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    941
    Yup, Tour De France, the most watched yearly sporting event in the world. I'm sure Cadel is a household name down there by now. He was a great mt biker too.
     
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    An easy way to determine the size of a card is by comparing it to the expansion slot (io) plate.
    From the looks of it the HIS card you linked is using the reference PCB layout so it should fit in just fine.
    But be careful that you need an extra bit of room to fit the 6-pin power connector at the end of the card.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page