1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What happend to the 'unlock the fourth core thread'?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by troyrae360, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    i was reading a thread called Unlock the fourth core, least i think thats what it was called.
    Any way ive still got it in my email account but its now an invalid link?
    whats up with that?
  2. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    i really need to know as i might buy a p2 720
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,414 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,492
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I found this browsing through this forum section (overclocking and cooling), might have some info to help you out...seems to unlock the 4th core you need a bios option to do so...something called ACC? Anyways they were using gigabyte boards for the most part, it's not the exact thread, but might be helpful!

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=85398&page=2

    Hope that helps! :toast:
    troyrae360 says thanks.
  4. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    hey, thanx, it seems the orignal thread has just vanished.
  5. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    It depends
    1. On the board
    2. The bios
    3. The Chip

    Not all chips will unlock the 4th core only a few

    What you do is go to ACC and set it to Per Core 0%

    if it boots and you are able to run prime95 or anystablility program for a few hours your good
    if it dosent then you arent able to

    If it dosent work reset you CMOS
  6. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    so why has the thread been removed?
  7. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    what thread?
  8. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
  9. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
  10. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    no, this is the link that was emailed to me by the automated email that comes in, it used to work it was a good thread on how to unlock the fourth core of the 720
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    PM a mod or Wiz and find out where it went. Threads are very very very rarely deleted here only locked.
  12. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Hey you dont need to put all cores at 0% or anything. Just enable the ACC function on your mobo and if your chip does have a stable 4th core your good to go.
  13. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page