1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What happens when a TEC overheats? Look inside to see.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Wile E, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    I still cant believe this....

    All that hard work down the tube :(

    I am still looking around to see if I have an extra e4300..... but it doesnt look good at the moment
     
  2. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Lol, why would you have to hide the fact you got a q6600 ???
    man, she must bust ur nutz mr....hehaha


    :laugh: (wife has NOOO clue im on a quad :roll:)[/QUOTE]
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I have to wait, because I don't have anything to test it in. lol. All I have laying around are either Macs, or AGP machines. My ECS KA3 MVP is on loan to a friend, or else I would've had that. But, today is the magical day. I get the DFI and 6000+ back today. Wish me luck everyone. lol.
    hahahaha! I lol'ed. Thanx, Cash.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2007
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Even if you don't find anything Dave, I really, REALLY appreciate the effort. :toast:

    I can't do much to thank you, so I'm gonna go bump your fs thread(s). lol
     
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Good luck man. How'd the 6000+ overclock last time you had it?
     
  6. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,117 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    It'll probably use less power in the long run if you want phase change :laugh:

    As for the smell, you do know burnt PCB is... toxic! ;)


    Welcome to the "I will not leave dangerous hardware unattended club".
     
  7. JaYp146 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    189 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    This is exactly why I stick to air-cooling. Low maintenance FTW.

    To the OP: That sucks! Hate to see a C2D go down like that ... :(
     
  8. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    [/QUOTE]



    Cuz i've spent PAST $4,000 in 12 months on PC parts ($1500 in monitors) :eek:

    I blame it on TPU!
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    3430 for benches, but that might get better with the 3x120MM rad. Don't know for sure yet.


    And good news everyone, the 2900XT checks out fine. Woooot!!!!
     
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    good that the video card works but what about the RAM? Also if it was non-conductive coolant than wouldn't anything it got on be ok if you cleaned it and let dry?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Thats just brutal.. you should be murdered for the massacar that 680i suffered before finally dying! *weeps for the 680i*
     
  12. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    thats good then:toast:, i reckon that 4300 would have had a hard time keeping up with that 6000+ anyway
     
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I think at stock speeds the C2D would have but overclocked on that kind of cooling the 6000+ wouldn't even have a chance
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Ram checks out fine, too. Posting this from the 6000+ now.
     
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,296 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Ohio
    You're lucky. You need to find out about that processor though! Cmon man just spend $50 on a capable board. You don't need a high-end board as the 6000+ will be good for a few years and I wouldn't even attemp to OC that 4300 after it had a TEC melt on top of it and a mobo melt under it :/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    lol. Like I said, if I buy a Core 2 board, it will be a good one. And I'll never NOT overclock. lol
     
  17. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Man that would be super extreme if the Core 2 was still in perfrect working order...that would earn a little more respect for Intel frome me..and as we all know getting respect from me means everything.
     
  18. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    I MIGHT have just gotten a hold of a e4400.

    I have to wait till tomorrow to find out
     
  19. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    To bad man, that's a real shame, but on the brighter side, thank God there was no fire... Wow that got hot!!!
     
  20. kardson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    HIS X1950pro AGP

    TEC FTW! -heat inside the case :(
     
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I soooo hope this doesnt happen to m video cards.

    I guess I should run it on the desk before I put them on top of anything.
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Just make sure you wire your rad fans and pumps to the same power source as the TECs. You see what happens when you don't. lol
     
  23. GH Z New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Heh I did this waay back myself, it's a sure fire way to desolder the core if you ever need to :D

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    lol. I feel a little better now.
     
  25. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309

    Dont worry... just about everyone who has ventured into TEC cooling has made a similair mistake.

    Its just that others caught it in time, where you didnt.

    I have left the TEC on and the water pump off once..... I didnt know until the top of the waterblock blew off from the pressure and heat of the boiling water!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page