1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What has happened?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by BradleyKZN, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Ok, so i have just reseated and re-applied my thermal paste, so i switch pc on and nothing appears on the screen. Judging by the short beep as well as the keyboard lights coming on and flashing regularly im assuming there is a problem with the video card or something. But i took the power cables out and put the back in and gently pushed the card in and it was firm. The monitor comes up with a message that says analog then digital and back and forth between those. So what could the problem be?
  2. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    try your video card in a diffrent pci slot.
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Make sure your video card is pushed in all the way. Check the monitor cable. I usually fail to seat the GFX card almost everytime with an AGP board.
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Make sure the cable between the graphics card and monitor is in and secure.

    My dad's PC did this yesterday, just a loose connection between the DVI cable and graphics card.

    If you get a single beep that means everything is okay, so it just sounds like the monitor isnt receiving the picture.
  5. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Lol thanks for the quick replies. So its definately graphics then?
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    When the screen fails to show any pic, and rotates, yes, it is GFX. 1 beep is normal and means system nominal so you are good in the aspect. I bet you just bumped the card out of its slot.
  7. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    So the card should still be alive then? Ill try reseating it tomorrow afternoon and ill let u guys know. Thanks
  8. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    You may all stand in line and give me a good :nutkick: i didnt plug one of the power connectors in!
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    :nutkick:
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,867 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    don't worry about it. quite often I forget to plug my video card power connector in
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    i've forgotten to plug the whole thing in. Lets hit space bar to wake up the .... oh yeah the PC's still in the car.
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2009
  12. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    try restart your bios
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    oh hayder... your habit of posting without reading the rest of the thread has bitten you in the ass once again,
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  14. SparkyJJO

    SparkyJJO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    :nutkick:

    Nah that's ok. I forgot to plug in all my PCIe power connections to my graphics card. Yeesh from the alarms wailing and the big "YOU IDIOT PLUG MY POWER IN" screen you'd think it was about to explode or something :laugh:
  15. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Lol you guys make me rofl!
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ohhh , man im sorry but this is some kind of side problem, i read the thread well and i expect try first mobo setting cuz i was think it is pci-e setting or pci-e slot problem or other things in bios can made this problem , if it is not i was go for some ideas for the video cards
    at last the problem was delay in my post , cuz you know i have slow internet connection so im go for open all pages in one time and waiting for every page done , so when i post i see there is many posts was type and the the problem was solved , you right i should delete my post after that , dumm guys you are so quick posting
    sorry im go keep my eye on this point next time
    you right man other thread got me again , sorry my friend i dispoint you again , i become feel i have bad luck
  17. Dice

    Dice

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    :nutkick:
    :laugh:
  18. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Sigged!
  19. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I keep on forgettin to plug my DVD drive after modding it, every time it doesn't open I alway shit myself first before remebering the cables:(
  20. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan

    I do it almost everytime I mess with my card or cpu. And almost everytime I say WTF?!?!??!?!?!?!???! then I see it dangling there. :roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page